Skip to content

The night I had insomnia

February 11, 2014

I imagine most working people are asleep by now but I am not. I took today off because I have a terrible case of laryngitis, thank you sickly office environment. I also tried to sleep early, like 2 hours ago early (11 pm.. that’s generally the earliest I can do) but I woke up in cold sweats. So here I am blogging because there’s no point in tossing and turning and my sheets.

An update on the 51/501 — I sold something online = yay ! Really indadvertedly though because we totally forgot that we had stuff for sale on Etsy.. whoops — and it’s shipping to an international customer so we pretty much lose out on any profit. I must say, juggling a business, my full time job and studying was a pretty difficult feat and I’ve learned a hell of a lot about running a business in general.

Here are some key points to keep in mind:

1) Don’t rush through writing up your business plan

2) Have a marketing strategy

3) Be really, really, over the moon, crazy person passionate about what you’re selling

4) Set aside time for the business, it should be seen as a priority

and lastly..

5) Don’t run a business if the fung shui master tells you not to

I feel like I should have six points but my brain is not functioning properly right now.

Anyway, here are some photos from a better time:

photo--7photo--8photo--2
photo--12photo--14photo--13photo--11photo--4photo--5photo--10photo--6photo-photo--17

And the outtakes..

Thom in his element.

photo--15photo--16

Welcome to the Louvre!

photo--20

No sunnies? Problem solved with my makeshift sunglasses.

photo--21

Taking a selfie with a macro lens = FAIL!!!

photo--19

Okay, going to try to sleep again. Wish me luck !

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2014 8:48 pm

    Hahaha – I burst out laughing at some of those photos. You guys are hilarious. Looks like you had a wonderful sunny time :)

  2. February 11, 2014 9:31 pm

    Love the photos ! Hope you are getting better sleep tonight, Mel :)

    • February 12, 2014 8:48 pm

      Thanks Ames. Apparently it takes about 6 days for the voice to return but sleeping better :-)

Leave a Reply

