Skip to content

The day I didn’t neglect my blog

January 12, 2014

Hi blog world, remember me ? Chances are no one reads this blog anymore (except stalkers and Nicole) . In a way it’s a good thing as it’s like starting from scratch with no expectations to meet. 

I admit, for a long time I didn’t feel compelled to post anything. I’m not exactly sure of the root cause. I don’t think it was because I was busy (although I often use this as an excuse but if something is important enough, you can prioritise) or because another 1001 days had lapsed. Maybe I felt too old for it.. especially now that I am in my “mid twenties” *insert mini panic attack*. 

I do want to make more of an effort to blog now, even if it’s not around my goals. As someone addicted to lists, I will always have my goals although they may not be in the form of a 101/1001. I also like having a pretty little space in the internet world to vent and be somewhat creative.

Anyway, to commemorate another year that has passed, I wanted this post to highlight some of the awesome things that happened in 2013. Gotta stop focusing on the negative and make this year awesome !

#1. SMASHED tough mudder

I just had to put it out there. Never again will I attempt this.. well shouldn’t anyway ! Not sure quite if 3 months of hardcore training (in the form of waking up at 5.45am every morning for circuit training 5 days a week) paid off..

tough mudder

#2. Visited my lovely francophone parents in Angouleme & discovered my dream holiday home

Spent about 4 weeks in Europe, mainly road tripping through France with the objective of going to a friend’s wedding (although it was just a good excuse for a  holiday !). Although have been to Europe before, this was the first time traveling during their summer. The country side was absolutely beautiful but the heat totally killed me ! Give me snow and temperatures below zero any day !

angouleme-

#3. Escaped the 40+ degree heat in Melbourne via Tasmania

Below is a rare view of the peak of Cradle Mountain !

cradle mountain

#4. Tried lots of new, delicious recipes !

Below is Jamie Oliver’s 15 minute granola which consists mainly of nuts and oats. I used to hand ground every thing until I got my Magimix food processor. Serious time saver !

granola

#5. Hosted a charity breakfast

Nicole & I raised about $400 for the Mother’s Day Classic which raises money to support and research breast cancer prevention. It was a really fun way to do it ! My goal for 2014 is to do more hands on charity work/volunteering.

mdc

And lastly.. #6. Had a good/better than average hair year

I know it sounds really trivial and it is (but what the heck, this is my blog right ?!) but I changed my hair style about 4 times last year and I think overall I was pretty happy with each change.

hair

That’s all for now folks. Happy new year to you all and may 2014 be an AWESOME year (if you made it this far !).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2014 9:18 pm

    I guess I am classified as a stalker then ;) nice of you to start blogging again xo

  2. January 14, 2014 8:55 pm

    Far out it’s so hot at the moment!
    I have nothing to say other than It if nice to see you blogging again. I think you are overdue a music video or two also!

  3. nic. permalink
    January 15, 2014 9:43 pm

    YaY!!!! You’re back :D :D :D !! I feel like the harmony has come back into my life and things are as they should be again! I hope this continues! + Now we can motivate each other to write! May your 20-14 be one of great accomplishments and happy eating!

    ps. thank you ever so kindly for linking my blog :) I feel like I now have an extended readership – although not so sure if this is true.

  4. January 17, 2014 10:51 pm

    I love the haircut you have in that last photo :)

  5. jrphu permalink
    February 2, 2014 4:15 pm

    welcome back!

Leave a Reply

