Skip to content

Sayang means ‘love’

July 3, 2012

Nicole said I should post something. So for her entertainment, I am. I haven’t really felt like blogging much over the past couple of weeks. For those of you who don’t know (probably a lot of you, because I never really told anyone), the love of my life, my baby, best friend and dog Sayang died on the 15th of June. I think Bel & I will forever be sorry that we weren’t there with her when it happened but I suppose we have to try and hang on to the good memories, the ones that truly reflect the kind of dog she was rather than one I have engrained. The one where I walk out in the garden and uncover the blankets and she’s lying in eternal sleep in a cardboard box ready to be carried out into her grave. The story of how we ended up getting Sayang in the first place is quite an amusing one. Mum bought Sayang on a whim, without any consultation with my dad and I remember him being very cross about it, but she said that while she and her best friend were in the pet store, Sayang had kept staring at her with those “take me home” eyes so that she just had to get her. And I remember the power of her convicting eyes (can eyes be convicting ?). In fact she had a profound impact on each and everyone of us, even my (typical cold hard exterior, never sheds a tear, Asian) dad. And while Bel & I were at a friend’s house, she came home to pick us up with Sayang in her arms and my friend had thought it was for her ! I feel so blessed to have had such an amazing companion while growing up. In many ways, she is the epitome my childhood. I will forever remember and love her.



To end this sad post, I thought I should post something a bit ‘lighter’ cause’ not everyone likes talking or hearing about death. This is a chocolate cake made using Hershey’s cocoa with a Nutella filling (good call Bel). Bel & I have been baking a lot (pizzas, cakes, roulades), which is maybe our way of dealing with things. It’s been yummy. (Recipe to follow in possible next post)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    July 3, 2012 7:50 pm

    I remember when all four of us went on that long walk together. Sayang and you walked so fast on the way back I could hardly catch up – so much energy!

    • July 9, 2012 12:17 am

      I remember that day too. I’m glad we all went for one last walk and could take her to her favourite places !

  2. July 6, 2012 2:43 am

    :( Adorable dog…. I would get really broken up when my hamsters died and those only live 2-3 years. i can only imagine who rough it must be when a pet that has been with you all through childhood dies…

    Cake looks good! Like a gigantic whoopie pie :)

    • July 9, 2012 12:17 am

      Thanks for saying so ! I suppose all you can do is try not to think about that and just enjoy your time with them and love them and nurture them.

      Recipe now posted :-)

  3. July 11, 2012 5:35 pm

    I can’t believe the sad news Mookxi…it felt like Sayang would live forever. She did have the biggest sweetest eyes!

Leave a Reply

