Skip to content

I must be having too much fun

February 28, 2012

Sorry for the lack of posts. I started work the next day I arrived back from Japan and have been working in the new job ever since. It’s been fun and trying at times but I’m learning a lot. Last week was spent in San Remo where 19 of us supergrads soaked up the sun and learned a lot about the super industry and each other. I feel pretty lucky to be a part of this program & have met so many wonderful, inspiration, intelligent people. It’ll be interesting to see where I’ll end up by the end of the year. I also have another interstate trip to look forward to in March in Brisbane where I’ll be attending a conference for the major super funds and meeting lots of key speakers, industry leaders, and my mentor !

Besides all the traveling, eating, and working, I’ve been busking for the first time & also performed at Stage Fright which was absolutely nerve-wreaking and exhilarating ! I hope to perform again someday, whether it be on the street or on stage. Naturally I feel like a shy person (can’t tell can you ? :-P) and this year has really challenged me to put myself out there a lot more.

Highlights of the trip: Studio Ghibli & the cat bus, attempting to speak Japanese (crappily, but hey, at least I tried !), amazing food & cheap eats, the fashhhion, pretty men with stylish man bags, 10-story stationary stores (aka stationary heaven !), manga library, cycling through Kyoto, snow, super efficient trains which come every 2 minutes, and polite & attentive shop assistants. I’m sure there were more but those are off the top of my head !

Lowlights: Not being able to eat and drink on the street while walking/doing stuff. I know, I know — means less litter and less people eating smelly foods on trains but I must be so used to eating on the go that I don’t think I could do without for a prolonged period of time.

Weird lights: Japanese highschoolers following a very scared and timid Thomas who they asked to be in a photo with. They kept giggling and calling him “handsome” which amused me greatly at the time, particularly because he looked SO CONFUSED –> o.O. I was disappointed that no one ever came up and offered him a modelling contract though, which I hear is quite common over there if you’re Caucasian and at least six foot tall !

Here are a few photos from the past few weeks .. there are thousands so I just picked a handful !






1-2. Tokyo CBD 3. 5am at the fish market 4. Udon ordered from a vending machine 5. Manga museum in Kyoto 6-8. Kyoto 9. Takoyaki 10. Donuts in Minami-Aoyama 11. Thomas posing 12. Statue in Studio Ghibli 13. Akihabara (electronics / bookstore district)

I hope you all are having a wonderful 2012 so far !

This post relates to goal #10.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 7:53 pm

    Ha, yeh that was so strange (the school girls). Another negative of the trip is that our tinny Australian department stores just seem pathetic now -_-“

  2. March 6, 2012 11:14 pm

    I love the photo where your dark green jacket matches the duck’s head. Japan looks amazing :)

  3. May 2, 2012 3:58 am

    aww ahaha he has fan girls! I love your photos (as usual)..man it feels like everyone is going to japan rn :(

Leave a Reply

