Skip to content

Christmas Gift Ideas Part I

November 26, 2011

I remember doing a gift guide awhile ago but stopped after one post. I just love buying presents & gift shopping so this Christmas here are some of my top picks and ideas for the clueless :-P

For the artist / architect ..

 

 

1.  Palomino Artist Colour Pencils – Set of 12 / Set of 24
These are such stunning pencils. Highly pigmented and come in a very presentable, sleek wooden box. The Palomino Blackwing graphite pencil looks good too. NB. If anyone wants 20% discount at Notemaker, type in ‘popupsale’. The code is valid until December 31st 2011.

2. Pantone mugs set (Red & Pink)
I’ve been eyeing these for awhile. I think they look great in a set with all the different shades of pantone colours. I’m attracted to the beautiful colour choices and simple design. You can find them online at various sites and I’ve seen them in-store at Magnation too.

3. Terry Fan prints
I recently discovered Terry Fan’s artwork and I love how whimsical they are. 

 

For the traveller ..

 

1. Monocle 12 issue special subscription
I’m not a huge magazine reader but I was hooked as soon as I picked up my first issue of Monocle in 2007. I’ve since been an avid fan & reader, and I think this would be a great gift for someone who likes to travel. I remember someone on youtube saying “if this magazine was human, it would be 007” haha ! It is sleek, sexy, and is packed full of information about current affairs, design, and lots & lots of stuff on traveling, with regular travel guide inserts to many different locations around the world such as Taiwan, Tokyo, and Madrid. 

2. Snapfish luggage tag
My whole family uses Snapfish these days for ordering prints (as well as creating a family mug which we regret only ordering one since mum & I fight over it !) just because it’s so convenient and in terms of quality, it’s not bad at all. I recently found out that they’re doing luggage tags as well and while you might think it’s a lame idea, someone like my mum would love it as a frequent flyer !

3. Soaper Heroes – Travel Gift Box
I love love love Soap & Glory. Smells great & lingers after showering, plus the packaging is cute (although pink..).

 

For the inner girly girl (or your gf) ..

 

   

1. Christmas In My Kitchen Kit
Which girl doesn’t like to smell good ? And you can never have enough yummy smelling body wash for that matter.

2. Diptyque – Feuille de Lavande
I’m not really huge on candles but they are good for getting rid of nasty smells in the house (sometimes my cooking is the cause of this). You can find a fair selection at Mecca Cosmetica even if they are rather overpriced ..

3. Folklore plate set
Okay so my mum would probably prefer Spode or Alessi branded plates but I think these are rather cute.

4. Nars Limited Edition Sweet Disposition Mini Multiple set
You can’t really go wrong with Nars. High quality stuff & sucker for the packaging. Other favourites from Mecca include Escentric MoleculesSmashbox Photo Finish Primer or this Smashbox set, and Too Faced Shadow Insurance.

What are you getting your loved ones for Christmas ? (Hopefully they don’t read this blog).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2011 10:57 pm

    thanks for dropping by and following my blog! :) i’ve pretty much been stalking yours for the past 10 mins :p
    very cute present ideas – i’m a big fan of candles myself and i’d like to try ones from diptyque but there’s no doubt they are completely overpriced at mecca

    x

  2. November 27, 2011 11:30 pm

    Oooh nice gift guide :P!
    Hmm, I’m probably going to get him a ps3 (if he reads this, I’m screwed lol! xD) or if I don’t have enough money by then, probably small cute little things that reflect our relationship!

    • mookxi permalink*
      December 3, 2011 5:12 pm

      Both of those ideas would make awesome present — you’ve very thoughtful ! I recently got a ps3 for my birthday myself and I love it.

Leave a Reply

