Skip to content

Honey cake & then some

September 18, 2011

There’s nothing like food to unite people. Especially with the kinds of people I hang around with: bottomless pits, friends who can eat 2 litres of ice cream in one sitting & still look fit and young, and sweet tooths. 

See exhibit A: honey cake. I made enough batter for three cake pans and by the time the day was over, only one was left standing ! I’ve been in a food rut lately, coming home and vegging out on takeout or left overs for the past few weeks. It’s difficult when there’s only one cook in house ! So to make up for the slack, I’ve been trying out a couple of new recipes and going back to oldies but goodies. From the experimental shakshouka (a Jewish dish that Cumulus serves beautifully at breakfast) and sausage-stuffed potatoes, to my specialty dish — Syrian chicken, a recipe by Karen Martini that was so good, it apparently had been requested several times her regular column in the newspaper.

See recipe for honey cake below !

Honey cake recipe

(From Smitten Kitchen — measurements aussified)

Adapted from Marcy Goldman’s Treasure of Jewish Holiday Baking

3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
4 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
1 cup vegetable oil
1 cup honey
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 large eggs at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup warm coffee or strong tea
1/2 cup fresh orange juice
1/4 cup rye or whiskey
1/2 cup slivered or sliced almonds (optional)

Fits in three loaf pans, two 22-23cm square or round cake pans, one 22-23cm or 25cm tube or bundt cake pan, or one 23x33cm sheet cake. I made mine in two full-size loaf pans plus two miniature ones.

Preheat oven to 180°C. Generously grease pan(s) with non-stick cooking spray. For tube or angel food pans, line the bottom with lightly greased parchment paper, cut to fit.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cloves and allspice. Make a well in the center, and add oil, honey, white sugar, brown sugars, eggs, vanilla, coffee or tea, orange juice and rye or whiskey, if using. (If you measure your oil before the honey, it will be easier to get all of the honey out.)

Using a strong wire whisk or in an electric mixer on slow speed, stir together well to make a thick, well-blended batter, making sure that no ingredients are stuck to the bottom.

Spoon batter into prepared pan(s). Sprinkle top of cake(s) evenly with almonds, if using. Place cake pan(s) on two baking sheets, stacked together (this will ensure the cakes bake properly with the bottom baking faster than the cake interior and top).

Bake until cake tests done, that is, it springs back when you gently touch the cake center. For angel and tube cake pans, this will take 60 to 75 minutes, loaf cakes, about 45 to 55 minutes. For sheet style cakes, baking time is 40 to 45 minutes.

Let cake stand fifteen minutes before removing from pan.

Besides consuming a lot of food, I had a night out with my girls at Fashion Lounge to see Asia Pacific Runway 2011. Tickets were generously provided by the event coordinator :-D


Nicole & I ! I really love this one (and for once Nicole is not mid-blink ! :-b). New profile picture, and I don’t change mine very often :-P

One year ago: I ate too many Ritz crackers cause’ there was nothing else in the pantry
Two years ago: I (appeared) to only take pictures of shoes at parties
Three years ago: Sang along to Benoit, Dir En Grey, & Avenged Sevenfold 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2011 10:20 am

    lovely group picture :D and the cake looks yum!

  2. FiveMinuteGuy permalink
    September 19, 2011 12:15 pm

    Greetings from Lon-don.
    or should I say, Allo Guv’nor.
    Why can’t I facetime you. It keeps saying you’re unavailable.
    And I’ve tried calling you numerous times.
    Its hard stalking you if you’re avoiding me!

    • mookxi permalink*
      September 22, 2011 10:13 pm

      You called me on a blocked number at 1.30am @_@ get skype and add “Mookxi” :-P !! Hope you’re faring well in London old chap.

  3. September 20, 2011 4:45 pm

    Darling, you are definitely wife material! Hahaha, those cakes look absolutely delicious!!! :’) I’m going to bake one real soon using your recipe! :D

    I’m sorry for neglecting the blogging world, and commenting you like we used to. :(

    Catching up on your posts right after I submit this comment! :)

    I hope all has been well. xx

    • mookxi permalink*
      September 22, 2011 10:24 pm

      Haha yes wife material ! Can I cook ? Tick ! Can I clean ? Tick ! Two things I definitely look for in a husband too :-P I am thoroughly unimpressed by men who can’t cook — there’s no excuse unless you don’t have arms !

      Ooh do try it and let me know how it goes. No worries about the commenting. Can understand that life gets busy, just don’t forget to stalk me every now and again just like I do with you :-P

  4. cerina permalink
    September 23, 2011 12:39 pm

    Mookxi!!! It’s you!! I haven’t been involved with the blogosphere lately at all but it’s good to see you! (read you) haha.

    The cake looks delicious! Never heard of a honey cake before..might have to try it sometime :D
    P.S. If you are by chance going to visit my blog, just a heads up that it is currently unavailable. I blocked it for a little while while I figure things out, but I know on the page it says “invited members only” but that is rubbish…I didn’t invite/disinvite anyone. I just don’t want you yo get hurt feelings or anything lol. I’ve gotten some emails from people thinking that I blocked them but I have not!

    Well anyway, I hope you’re doing well! It’s great to see you’re posting again :D

    Cerina :)

    • mookxi permalink*
      September 23, 2011 12:59 pm

      You definitely should ! Honey is both good for you & delicious (although the health benefits are probably offset by all the brown & white sugar !) ^^

      Noo I can understand ! I had mine marked private for awhile but I wasn’t privately blogging, just on a hiatus. Wish WordPress had a hiatus mode ! That would be useful but I guess they don’t like vacant space.

      Hope all is well with you & your family :-) Will you be back to blogging any time in the not too distant future ?

  5. nicole permalink
    September 24, 2011 12:23 am

    Thannnnnks for the cake recipe!! i’m gunna give it a try next time i have to take a plate to an event! and i totally get what you mean about the cooking rut. I m in one of those too, last week I had a good week but this week was just terrible. Once the holidays come up i wanna get back on track. + i still have your baking diiiiish eeeek! gotta make you that vegetarian lasagna. Oh and i really do like that pic, it’s a nice one of us! anyway, we’ll talk soon! p.s. Carmen (angela’s mum) sends you her love.

Leave a Reply

