Skip to content

The day of cake eating

July 4, 2011

Cake, cake, cake.

I like cake. Cake is good. Cake is fine. Chocolate cake will be all mine!

This is my absolute hands-down favourite chocolate cake recipe because I only have to use one bowl  which means minimal amount of washing up (although that one bowl still languors unwashed in the kitchen sink) and I don’t have to melt any chocolate over the stove. The not-secret-anymore ingredient is Dutch cocoa powder. I baked two: the dud one went to my sister and colleagues at the bank and the successful one went to my friendy friendy friends. Nah kidding. They both were excellently received I should think. This is honestly a fail-proof recipe *touch wood*.


I always imagined the cracked and powdered surfaces of cakes to look like the alien fissures of a far off moon-planet. All you have to do is add little foot prints !

Everyday chocolate cake recipe

FROM SMITTEN KITCHEN

Since Deborah uses ounces and ‘sticks’ of butter, I’ve roughly changed the quantities into Australian equivalents but you can always go here for the original recipe.

125g unsalted butter, softened
200g firmly packed light brown sugar
100g granulated sugar
1 large egg, at room temperature
250ml buttermilk (I use 250ml of milk + 1 tbsp of white vinegar)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
200g all-purpose flour
75g Dutch cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt 

Preheat the oven to 160°C. Butter and lightly flour a 9×5×3-inch loaf pan, or spray it with a butter-flour spray. In a large bowl, on the medium speed of an electric mixer, cream the butter until smooth. Add the sugars and beat until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the egg and beat well, then the buttermilk and vanilla. Don’t worry if the batter looks a little uneven. Sift the flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt together right into your wet ingredients. Stir together with a spoon until well-blended but do not overmix. Scrape down the batter in the bowl, making sure the ingredients are well blended. 

Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan. Bake for 60 to 70 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean. Cool in pan on a rack for about 10 to 15 minutes, at which point you can cool it the rest of the way out of the pan. Serve with whipped cream and fresh berries, if you’re feeling fancy.

Using the above recipe I made three batches of cake and put some of the remaining batter into this cute little casserole dish which I got for $4 ! I love it ^^ Reminds of the Le Creuset ones.

Thomas tried some and the verdict ..

.. happy chappy ! :-D


One year ago: We both go down together
Two years ago: I hosted a movie marathon
Three years ago: Ended up on crutches after 19km

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2011 12:50 am

    Those cakes look pretty cool. I don’t actually eat cake very often and do not care much for it, but I’d probably bake those just to take pictures and then hand them out to other people. Yeah. Totally.

  2. July 4, 2011 2:14 am

    I can attest to the tasty nature of the cake in question.
    I was indeed a happy chappy ;)

  3. July 4, 2011 7:35 am

    Lol @ “Alien Fissures”
    Looks yummy and Thomas has attested he’s a happy chap~~
    I’m going to try this recipe one day ^_^

  4. July 4, 2011 8:39 am

    Om nom nom!! Baking is wondrous :)

  5. July 4, 2011 3:21 pm

    ooo I remember this cake (not this exact one of course – but the same recipe) – ’twas delicious!

  6. July 6, 2011 4:59 pm

    I forgot to tell you that this was so tasty! Also, I did not know that milk + white vinegar = buttermilk?!?!?

    From your friendy friendy friend

  7. July 6, 2011 11:31 pm

    ohhh cute! looks delicious too:)

  8. July 7, 2011 10:34 am

    i’ve been into baking a lot too!! But I usually give them away, or else I will rapidly gain weight lol and I’m visiting my doctor soon and it would crush me if he said anything haha!

    That does look really delicous :) I love the powdered sugar coat..it gives it a nice look :)
    OH and nice counter tops! i love the way granite looks. :)

  9. Someone permalink
    July 11, 2011 7:46 am

    Hey Mel – When are you going to China?

  10. July 18, 2011 3:44 am

    omg they look delicious!!!!

  11. Someone permalink
    July 18, 2011 10:12 am

    How’s the first week of August sound for you? Will you be in Beijing?

Leave a Reply

