Skip to content

The day I won hundred

July 1, 2011

Hiya folks ! Sorry it’s been awhile. I’ve been back to work and doing a couple of applications for jobs. Thank you so much for all the uplifting responses on my previous emo post. It was much appreciated ! Don’t worry, I’m not always that depressive (only in the privacy of my house and sometimes the elevator where I like to scream). In any case, I wasn’t totally unproductive. I baked a lot of cakes & ate them :-D

Here’s a rainbow cake I made for Thomas as he was having a not so dissimilar crisis I believe. He liked it and I’m happy he has a sweet tooth because mine can only take so much sugar ! :-P Also, apologies that I don’t have a picture of what the cake turned out like after it came out of the oven. To be honest though, it was the most unsightly cake I’ve ever baked, especially as I added frosting practically straight after I pulled it out. >.< Obviously I’m a very illogical person as the frosting melted all over the place and created a pink spew-like shape over the top of the cake. “HERE’S A VOMIT CAKE FOR YOU, CHEER UP !” Oh dear. Well, I’m definitely going to improve the recipe next time and use my own baking mix as I used a premixed one (which was too sweet for me & my cute grandma who also commented on how pretty & sugary it was) and simply created colours using food dye. I actually bought the food dye awhile ago when I saw it was on sale and never got a chance to use them until now, so I jumped for joy at the thought of making this.

Recipe after photos !



Rainbow cake recipe

 

2 boxes of cake mix (I used Betty Crocker‘s vanilla cake one)
2 x 355ml cans of lemonade
food dyes in pink, red, yellow, green, and blue
6 plastic zipper lunch bags — example

** Note: create orange using red & yellow, purple using pink & blue — using red & blue will make it black, trust me !!

Pour the two boxes of cake mix into a large mixing bowl. Pour the two cans of lemonade into the mix and stir, stir, stir until you have a nice, even consistency.

Get a couple of smaller mixing bowls to combine the different colour food dyes & the cake mix ! I was going for a rainbow shape so I divided each colour with different proportions of the white cake mix starting from red which will have the largest portion of the cake mix, to purple, which will have the least.

Roughly — 220g – red, 200g – orange, 150g – yellow, 100g – green, 50g – blue, 30g – purple, and the rest leave white.

Now for making the rainbow pattern in the cake pan. I wanted to use an angel food cake pan (the one with the whole in it ^^) but couldn’t find one in any of the bakeware shops so I reluctantly settled for my normal 20cm round cake pan.

Because I only had one decorating pen, I made some makeshift ones by pouring each colour into those plastic zipper-lock sandwich bags and cutting the edge of it for the batter to pour out.

First pour the white batter into the cake pan followed by the the red batter in a ring-like circle. Then pour the orange over that, keeping it inside the red. Do the same with each colour following ROY-G-BIV :-) (I only did ‘ROY-G-BI’ because I didn’t haven’t enough room in my small 20cm cake pan but you can do all 7 colours if you use a larger one !).

Follow the box’s baking instructions and put it in the oven to work its magic. I can’t remember what the Betty Crocker ones were. I think 70 minutes at 150 degrees C ? But please check as my memory is bad.

Recipe adapted from here & here.

I’ve scheduled another cake photo+recipe post soon as I’m going away this weekend. Enjoy & tell me if you try it out ! I’d love to see pictures !

Story behind the title —

I haven’t posted photos of shoes/boots in awhile, which is so unlike me, so I thought I would. These are Won Hundred boots in size 39 as I have large-girl/small-boy feet.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2011 9:09 am

    Love the happy bright colours! I’ve put icing on cake before it’s cooled once as well… so sad when that happens haha VNG is a VLuckyG :P.

    *sigh* wish I was going up with you guys today… enjoy! xoxo

  2. July 2, 2011 7:44 am

    I wanna try the rainbow cake! It seems like fun. Im a sweet tooth so would definitely be able to handle it~

    Looking forward to your next recipe post ^_^

  3. July 3, 2011 6:56 am

    Seriously??! I made a rainbow cake a couple of days ago!! Hazaa for rainbow cakes :D

    I was so sad though because It sunk in the middle from me opening the oven way too much haha. :-(

  4. July 6, 2011 11:30 pm

    omg pretty cake!! my eyes are swirling lol!

Leave a Reply

