Skip to content

The day I was laughing with God

June 20, 2011

Whenever I’m stressed I like to play ukulele or piano. Sometimes I like my baby guitar more, other times I prefer the sound of black & white keys. Hence I’ve learned a couple of new songs, one of them being Regina Spektor‘s Laughing With from her album ‘Far‘ which was released in 2009 and received with mixed reviews from critics, to which she remarked (thank you wikipedia):

“I mean, in this book, it’s music criticism from the 19th century, and they’re ripping Tchaikovsky a new asshole, but the thing that really gets me is that it’s written so beautifully. It’s nasty reviews in beautiful language, and that’s what I want,” she says. “My dad will forward me some of the stuff people write about me, and I think it’s all bullshit. It’s all, ‘Oh, this sucks, that sucks, blah.’ I don’t want that. I want you to write poetically about how bad I suck.”

She never fails to amuse and delight me. Personally, I not only adore this album because it reminds me of our 2009 world trip where it kept me company on many bus trips but also because I think it showcases her most personal, insightful, and experimental work with different sounds, new/strange words (“eet” ^^), and it’s the first time I think she’s mentioned her faith & beliefs in song which I think is wonderful especially as she had been quite private about her belief in God in the past (sort of like me I suppose). It’s really great to see artists create something truly close to their hearts, shaking off their fears and going against a tide of popular music & meaningless lyrics written with the intention of becoming a smash hit. Instead, Regina’s writing is a thoughtful reflection of herself and how she sees the world — whether or not you agree/disagree with them isn’t really the point (although it’s awesome when you can relate to a song).

Anyway, here’s the cover that I chose to cover because I felt an affinity to it. Apologies in advance (haha, I know I apologise every time I put a cover out there). My piano still needs to be tuned and the pedal squeaks every time I press it, which I try and put a positive spin on it by insisting that it’s part of its aging character, but nonetheless these issues will be addressed sometime in the near future. I’ve also never recorded anything on piano before so I didn’t realise the mic would pick up the sounds so much and drown out my voice (which you could interpret as either a good or bad thing :-P). Next time I will be all the wiser :-)

Enjoy !

No one laughs at God in a hospital
No one laughs at God in a war
No one’s laughing at God when they’re starving or freezing or so very poor

No one laughs at God when the doctor calls after some routine tests
No one’s laughing at God when it’s gotten real late and their kid’s not back from that party yet

No one laughs at God when their airplane starts to uncontrollably shake
No one’s laughing at God when they see the one they love hand in hand with someone else and they hope that they’re mistaken
No one laughs at God when the cops knock on their door and they say, “We’ve got some bad new, sir”
No one’s laughing at God when there’s a famine, fire or flood

But God can be funny
At a cocktail party while listening to a good God-themed joke or
Or when the crazies say he hates us and they get so red in the head you think that they’re about to choke

God can be funny
When told he’ll give you money if you just pray the right way
And when presented like a genie
Who does magic like Houdini
Or grants wishes like Jiminy Cricket and Santa Claus

God can be so hilarious
Ha ha
Ha ha

No one laughs at God in a hospital
No one laughs at God in a war
No one’s laughing at God when they’ve lost all they got and they don’t know what for

No one laughs at God on the day they realize that the last sight they’ll ever see is a pair of hateful eyes
No one’s laughing at God when they’re saying their goodbyes

But God can be funny
At a cocktail party while listening to a good God-themed joke or
Or when the crazies say he hates us and they get so red in the head you think that they’re about to choke

God can be funny
When told he’ll give you money if you just pray the right way
And when presented like a genie
Who does magic like Houdini
Or grants wishes like Jiminy Cricket and Santa Claus

God can be so hilarious

No one laughs at God in a hospital
No one laughs at God in a war

No one laughs at God in a hospital
No one laughs at God in a war

No one’s laughing at God in a hospital
No one’s laughing at God in a war

No one’s laughing at God when they’re starving or freezing or so very poor

No one’s laughing at God
No one’s laughing at God
No one’s laughing at God
We’re all laughing with God

Various lyric interpretations here which you might find interesting !

And now I’m going to disconnect my computer.

Two years ago: Manga crazed

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 12:12 am

    You’re so talented. Wow. You really have such a beautiful voice. I was pretty floored. It’s so soulful. Do more covers!

  2. June 20, 2011 12:17 am

    squeak…squeak. : D

  3. June 20, 2011 11:22 am

    Love you, Mel :). I think I might actually look her up now… I find I don’t really connect well with a lot of secular songs because they often conflict with my values, hence most covers I’ll ever do (in the privacy of my own house) are those that resonate more closely with my belief system… *shrugs*

    Push through the pain! one more day… or when you read this, given that you have disconnected your computer, horray for freedom!!!

  4. June 20, 2011 9:24 pm

    Lovely ^_^ and squeaky, but the squeaks just add character ;)

  5. June 22, 2011 7:22 am

    Ahh you play the piano too!!?? i am so jealous haha I always wanted to learn to play that but I really don’t have the patience :/ you’re really talented!! Do you have these videos on YouTube? If not, you should put them on there so more people can see! :D

  6. June 23, 2011 2:18 am

    your voice is absolutely beautiful :)

  7. June 23, 2011 4:27 pm

    awesome, talent not to b missed

  8. June 24, 2011 12:36 am

    I love Regina Spektor but I’m not really up to date with her music these days. I used to play the piano when I was young but then I quit and then lost all my talent haha, not that I really had any in the first place! You did so well here!!!

Leave a Reply

