Skip to content

The day I wrote about muse-ic and a ukulele viddy

May 27, 2011

Cerina suggested awhile ago doing a post on my favourite bands which I thought was an excellent idea and something that I’d like to share with you ! Looking back at all the artists that have influenced/changed my taste/life over the years isn’t just about the evolution of the musical climate and popular culture. On a personal level, it reflects a sort metamorphosis from child to adult (or maybe just child with adult privileges :-P), which sounds a lot more dramatic than I mean for it to be but I think you can sort of infer what I’m trying to say I hope.

The 90’s: childhood

As a kid hyperactive kid, my parents enjoyed taking my sister & I on road trips probably because they discovered that putting their children in a car and driving for hours lulled us to sleep (but on a less narcissistic note there are a lot of beautiful places to see in Australia !). So those early years were filled will music from my parent’s generation: ABBA, The Beatles, Barbra Streisand, The Beach Boys. I was also heavily involved in a show choir as well as playing piano and cello which exposed me to a variety of genres from classical, to jazz, to “world music”. However, the most memorable thing I kept tucked away in a secret back compartment of my mind was my phone interview with Melbourne’s Bachelor Girl, Tania Doko (if your memory allows it, think back to ‘Lucky Me‘, ‘I’m Just A Girl‘, ‘Permission To Shine‘). I vaguely remember that it was for a music project I did when I was in year 6. It just so happened that my mum knew her mum through art class. Pretty amazing ! Now into the new millenium ..

The early 2000’s: the pubescent years


I was pretty happy-go-lucky when it came to music at this period in my life. It was the start of high school and I listened to whatever was on the radio, so basically whatever sounded popish, with a beat that you can bop along to. Boy bands, girls bands, Avril Lavigne which, laugh all you want, was my first live-concert experience, and lots and lots of synchronised dancing. Besides that, I was lucky enough to be taken along to a lot of musicals that my mum & sister enjoyed watching including Les Miserable, Queen, The Boy From Oz, and West Side Story.

2003-2006: growing pains

I can say that before this period, music had always been served to me on a (somewhat tarnished) silver platter. I had never really made a conscious effort to discover and listen to artists that I liked for a deeper, more meaningful reason. That is not to say that I was brushing aside all songs without meaning — see Numa Numa song. These were the volatile years where teenagers started their journey to self-discovery. Some started dating, others focused on their studies, while I somehow managed to branch out into a field of interest which some found a little obscure — I discovered whole new communities online including the zine world (I was the editor of several zines with around a thousand subscribers — my dad called this bulk mailing -.-”), reply to alls (music sharing communities through email), Neopages (my first webhost), and Last.FM, where I met a many different and interesting peoples from all over the globe. So many distractions, so many sources of sounds & influences. Plus I had managed to steal my mum’s iPod, which she never used anyway. I finally had a place to store all the music I liked and I didn’t have to rely on a radio station to choose what they wanted me to hear. Anyway, I was a sucker for a male vocalists with pretty voices and faces, over dramatic/emo lyrics, and Japanese experimental music. Likes included: Shiina Ringo, Perfume, Taking Back Sunday, DCFC, music from anime soundtracks (such as Nana, Ouran High School Host Club), My Chemical Romance, FOB, David Bowie, Hellogoodbye, just to name a few.

2007 – present:

   

With the emergence of many young, talented YouTube artists, I developed an unhealthy stalker-like admiration for a few independent song writers and cover artists including Kris Shred, and very French & amusing Scampi who I had a slight crush on <333333 (who inspired me to pick up the ukulele & who has now disappeared off YouTube :-/). After turning 18, I also started going to more gigs and tend to be more biased towards musicians I’ve seen perform live such as Regina Spektor (who has such an amazing control of her voice), Amanda Palmer, Simon & Garfunkel, Broken Social Scene, Imogen Heap, and The Lucksmiths ! I can also say that I now have a much greater appreciation for artists that write, produce & perform their own music and don’t rely too much on a show to distract the audience. After moving out to the city, a significant amount of my day involves train & bus rides to get to uni out in the sticks so instrumental bands like Yime Bitsu, Explosions In The Sky, & Múm have made my transit a lot more pleasant, along with a nice book to read. At present, I continue to be very greedy when it comes to music (must listen to everything, more, more, MORE !!! !!!), and try to remain open minded to new things. I’ll give anything a listen at least once. So if you have an recommendations or anything, I’d love to hear. Perhaps we can trade iPods once Thomas has given me back mine :-P.

To finish off, here’s are some bands I’ve been digging recently: Emilíana Torrini (who I just discovered sang Gollum’s Song at the end of LOTR 2 — no wonder her voice sounds so familiar [although she does sound like Björk] !!), The Mountain Goats (listen to ‘Love, Love, Love’), Elliott Smith, and Jeff Buckley‘s ‘So Real‘.

What about you, what did you listen to growing up & how does that compare to what you listen to now ?

Also I recorded another ukulele video which I did, again, on a Friday night ! Enjoy :-)

This goal is related to #64.

One year ago: Half Life – Imogen Heap (ukulele cover & murmur)
Two years ago: Versaille
Three years ago: The 1001 list of quality reads

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2011 3:34 pm

    omg I’ve missed your site – you have a very eclectic taste in music! circa 2003-6 we had pretty similar tastes in music indeed! My chemical romance! I was a pretty big fan of Avril Lavigne when she first debuted as well, her “complicated” song was definitely on repeat for a few months. But I then got hooked on kpop around 2000 and got ADDICTED around 2005 so….yeah :\ btw ur ukulele skills are so damn cool….and ur voice is really good too. And you’re pretty~ Whole package!

    • mookxi permalink*
      May 29, 2011 3:35 am

      Ahh thanks so much Elle ! :-D I’ve been a bit out of the loop in the blogging world. Just about to commence final exams and then hopefully graduate after 5 years of uni (feels longer !). Haha, they were awesome weren’t they ? Their image & music has changed a lot since those days as most artists do. I feel like I’m going red ;-b Thank you again ;-3

  2. May 27, 2011 10:49 pm

    totally hav to agree with Elle! :D

    my internet is slow so cant play the vid! actually cant even seee the vid ahha but i will watch it later ! :) u r super excellent with the ukulele!! i wish i was musically talented!!

    & ABBA hehehe… yea…

    lol stalk-ish for independent young artists! true true – the internet has made it so much easier to express urself esp. musically now!!

    re: yellow nail polish
    aww.. i havent worn the etude house nail polish yet but i like pastels in general so i think i got my hands on a pale yellow i cold pull it off!! i dont think il be wearing the etude one on myhands tho… not sure if it will suit my skin tone either! lol

    ohhh do you mean butter londen? thanks for the suggestion! i haven seen them anywhere in qld tho!! we dont have pulse chemists as fr as i no!

    yea – chiilyyyy in qld! but i hear VIC is worse!! how many degrees is it there now? we are around 15 ish here i think….

    lara xo

    • mookxi permalink*
      May 29, 2011 3:54 am

      Aww, thanks Lara ! I think ukulele as well as guitars is one of those instruments that people can pick up more easily than others with practice :-) And definitely. If you’re creative and popular enough you can make a lucrative career out of it ! That’s my back up option if I can’t get a graduate position after graduating X-D Haha.. oh dear.

      Yes that’s the one ! I get a bit dyslexic at times, apologies ;-x I found a list of stockists in QLD but not sure if any of these places are close to you : http://www.facebook.com/butterlondon?v=info

      About 10-15 degrees I’d say ! But at least I can still feel my face. Once it starts getting in the negatives, that’ when it becomes unbearable to me !

  3. Prisoner Number 61225071 permalink
    May 27, 2011 10:54 pm

    I LOVE your site, and great parenting tip by the way, I tried putting my kids in the car to get them to go to sleep…Works like a charm!

    Pity Child Protective Services didn’t seem to condone my…parenting methods.

    I suppose I shouldn’t have left the car parked at Westfields all day. But in my defense I left the air-conditioning on so they wouldn’t get too warm in the sun.

    Maybe the CPS were concerned that it got a little too cold in the car.
    Next time, I’ll be sure to leave the air-conditioning on AND run a hose from the exhaust into the car so that my kids can bask in the warmth of engine emissions.

    • mookxi permalink*
      May 29, 2011 4:01 am

      -.- SO disturbing RKHC ! “But in my defense ..” and your IP address gave your identity away :-P

  4. May 28, 2011 10:49 pm

    ^_^ enlightening post and awesome cover ! – I will give you back your ipod next time I see you -_-‘ .
    So is Shiina Ringo that singer I like off the playlist you made me ?
    Reminds me I need to add her and that Aphex twin song you like to my playlist. Also need to get-rid of all that Tom Waits and instrumental stuff ;) Swapping IPods proved rather rewarding don’t you think.

    • mookxi permalink*
      May 29, 2011 3:56 am

      Yes ! She’s so awesome right ? ^.~b I just love how she works across so many genres from electronica to supper club jazz to metal to noise rock to bossa nova to show tunes ! I have to note down all the music I liked from yours too. Definitely, thank you for trusting me with it :-P

  5. May 29, 2011 6:54 am

    Haha nice! I like how you have a little timeline going on there! I used to love Avril Lavigne but her music these days is horrid! :/

    Aleo, taking back sunday has some good music! My favorite is “liar” :)

    • May 29, 2011 10:28 am

      PS your Ukelele skills are amazing!!

    • mookxi permalink*
      May 30, 2011 12:52 am

      I think I remember that one ! ^^ My favourite by them was ‘New American Classic’ which is kind of an anomaly of a TBS song considering most of theirs are quite rockish and don’t have a violin in the background haha. Thank you ^^ !

Leave a Reply

