Skip to content

The night all the packets of pocky/pretz disppeared .. somewhere

March 6, 2011

I kept a travel journal while I was over in Hawa-ii. Yeah I know, I was only there for a little over a week but an empty notebook and pen is a staple for me when going somewhere. I don’t know how people go around without writing materials aka people who keep everything in their pockets ! I have to say though, I can imagine how liberating it would be just to walk around bagless with everything you need in your pants. No giant weight on your shoulders. No fumbling around. No paranoia about being pick pocketed while sleeping on the train (happens a lot .. the sleeping not the pick pocketing !).

Anyway, here are a couple of conversations that I’ve had with various family members during the trip. I recorded them down on paper to reminisce and laugh at later X-D.

Me: “Next time we should rent a car.”
Dad: “Next time ? Next time you’ll be here with your boyfriend. Or your husband.”
Me: “My boyfriend ?”
Dad: “With your husband.”

Me: “Why did you buy that Hello Kitty jumper ?”
Mum: “Well because you know, everyone loves Hello Kitty and I thought I’d be different !”
NB — It was from Forever21 in case your mum is interested in one too.

Me: “Armani Exchange is so crap.”
Bel: “Yeah Armania Exchange is the crappest of the crap Armanis. I doubt he (Georgio) even touched it.”
NB — We went to this outlet that had discounted labels and honestly, A|X was quite horrendous — everything was metallic, or with sequins, or had giant slogans slabbed across the front in ugly fonts. Old stock ? I don’t know but Mmy mum walked out with three items :-P

Me: So who ssaid “I love you” first ? Dad, was it you ?
Dad: Yeah probably
Me: And what did you say when he said that to you mum ? “Thank you ?”
Mum: No .. “OH, is it ??”

Yeah my parents are the least romantic people in the world (well .. I don’t know what happens behind closed doors but I don’t really want to think about it !) and they’re so super secretive about their current & previous love lives — though I still periodically interrogate them on this topic. I guess speaking of such things isn’t done in our culture (it’s a bit cringing saying that), but then again I hate to umbrella all Asian people as conservative and repressed as that is certainly not quite as true these days. So I told them that if I wasn’t allowed to inquire, neither were they when and if I adopt a relationship status. My dad seemed pretty okay with it but my mother, who is a lot more inquisitive than him, started talking ! Haha.. I’d be a great interrogator if only I could break down my parent’s walls.

Story behind the title —

All this ..


.. has now disappeared into my digestive system. Mmm.. tomato extract !

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 1:23 pm

    omg I love pretz! I’ve always been a pretz of pocky person *shh* ;)

    And yay for funny moments with parents. They say that kids say the darnest things, but so do parents :)

  2. March 6, 2011 5:38 pm

    It is a great idea to keep a notebook w/you everywhere to remember things. It’s much easier than waiting for the entire day before writing anything :P

  3. March 6, 2011 6:20 pm

    aww your parents are adorable! but they’re like mine. not willing to tell anything about their love life. but it’s ok. haha pretz are really good.

  4. March 6, 2011 8:22 pm

    lols, I love your parents :D I haven’t seen them in a while… please send them my regards :).

    My parents have pretty much told me all the ins and outs of how they met and all that happened before, after and during… in that respect, my parents have broken the ‘Asian’ mold even though they still cling to a few other traditions at times :).

    And woot to Pocky! I just finished one that had pocky dipped in chocolate :P.

    • mookxi permalink*
      March 8, 2011 8:37 pm

      I love yours too :-P I remember your dad would always drive us to Red Rooster before dropping us off at AGC ! Hahaha. Good times ! I want more pocky now :-O Try the mousse ones, they’re the best !

  5. March 6, 2011 8:36 pm

    It’s nice that you keep a record of things like this. Today whilst helping my brother move houses I had a similar repartee with my family. I think I took a little more notice of how important moments like that can be after reading this post :)

    My conversation went a little bit like this:

    Brother: be careful with that, it’s covered in redbacks
    Me: Oh ok, wait .. redbacks ?
    Brother: yep
    Me (whilst carrying red back infested object) : you cant die from redback bites can you dad?
    Dad : …nah, you might not feel very well though.

    Classic Dad

    • mookxi permalink*
      March 8, 2011 8:56 pm

      :-) Haha, that’s kind of gross :-P Your dad’s right though ! I think you will feel bad but you won’t die, right ??

  6. March 7, 2011 8:43 am

    wow i love pretzz.. !! didn’t know that there are so many flavours !! i’m loving the salad flavour which has a green package xD

  7. March 7, 2011 9:33 am

    Your parents sound funny!!!! =D

  8. March 8, 2011 1:56 pm

    Hilarious…. I know nothing of my parents love story.

  9. March 8, 2011 7:49 pm

    those look yuM! :D

    hahah convos

    things we remember hey?
    jotting it down is a great idea!

    yea Asian parents lol

  10. March 8, 2011 7:51 pm

    re: pins

    thank uuuu so much!!! :D

    excited :D

  11. March 8, 2011 7:51 pm

    0 & i love neutral nail polish shades tooo! :D

Leave a Reply

