Skip to content

Post-Hawaii

February 22, 2011
I’m back but don’t tell anyone !



Hawaii or “Hawa-ii” as they pronounce it over there: land of coconuts, palm trees, planefuls of Japanese tourists, and leather-tanned beach-going peoples carrying oversized surf boards (or maybe that’s the usual size). When I say my trip was ‘insightful’, I really mean it. Okay, perhaps it was a little naive to picture Honolulu as this tiny, semi-civilised place with minimal modern infrastructure and amenities but it’s not like I wiki ‘Hawaii’ every other day. OK, OK, I do lack some common sense ! Anyway, I do believe that traveling opens your mind and your eyes to things you would otherwise not see back at home, and as such my eyes are much wider than its usual squinty state after this family vacation. I’ve learned that being around my parents 24/7 is not a good idea, that food babies come about more easily than real babies (I’ve come home with twins), and that all Hawaiian souvenirs are freakishly scary or ugly .. “hawaiian” as Bel & I came to term it.. I guess that’s more politically correct, which perhaps is a more of an American thing than Aussie.

Highlights of the trip ? After a few days, my sister, who is usually quite laid back and overly chilled out, became extremely, extremely paranoid. She was paranoid about everything — that people were out to get her, that shop assistants were trying to sell her defective goods, and that everyone was generally in a defensive mode. And she swore it was due to the food. “They put something in the food ! Hormones or something !” It was kind of amusing. Of course other, less sadistic highlights were snorkeling in Hanauma Bay and swimming out in the middle of the ocean. I also enjoyed talking to Kirsten, who was our diving instructor, about her life in Hawaii and the realities of American culture in general.

Lowlights ? Trying to sleep three rows down from 10 screaming babies on the plane. Possible solution ? Tranq gun. Actually I just googled that and apparently it’s illegal to use tranquilisers on humans as they would knock out a human permenantly. I guess tasers are the next best option ! And also getting (what felt like a third degree) burn on my arm by a kettle.. which looked & felt okay until I accidentally stripped off a couple of layers of skin from drying myself off too roughly after showering ! Mmm.. raw skin >.< My pain tolerance is less than I thought.

And weirdlights — Two cuban guys stopped Bel & I on the street and told us we looked like Spanish twins !

Here’s a video I did, a bit jet-lagged & very nonsensical sorry ;-x I rambled a bit about the above and included Elle‘s I love your blog tag in there (thank you ^^):

 

What I should have said is that I want to tag everyone linked on my side bar ! You’re there for a reason !!


Lastly, here are some photos of the trip: (the request photo of me in a bikini is only going to go on facebook :-P)

1. I’m not a romantic, but I think this is quite a sweet moment captured (unknowingly haha !)
2. Overexposed photo taken at the ukulele picnic (cause’ dad doesn’t know how to use the camera X-D)
3. 103 ukulele musician. He was awesome !
4. $7 flat rate ? @_@
5. Hawaiian stuff at Hawaiian store.
6. Red velvet cake from Cheesecake Factory mmmm.. I had been craving this since playing Bakery Story hahaha !









20 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 11:53 pm

    Yay! You’re back! ^___^ I definitely missed you! :(

    Your trip sounds so amazing! And your photos!!! They are so beautiful; especially the photos of the Hawaiian landscape! I envy your photography skills! >.<" HAHA

    I hope all has been well. xx

  2. February 23, 2011 12:22 am

    :O Look at that warm weather and sunshine >.<

    Glad you're back, and despite weirdlights and lowlights =P a trip is always fun.

    • mookxi permalink*
      February 25, 2011 2:05 am

      Thank you ^^ It was great ! A little sticky & reminiscent of Malaysia but appreciated the sunniness and good weather for water activities ;-D

  3. February 23, 2011 8:33 am

    lols, awesomeness! I do agree that travel does open your eyes… I just came back from Perth, forever changed… in a good way :).

    BTW, you can change the link to my blog to the new one ;).

    See you at Mole’s? xo

    • mookxi permalink*
      February 25, 2011 2:00 am

      Yes I’ll be there in my birthday suit, Megan approved ! X-D. And the link has been changed ;-)

  4. nicole permalink
    February 23, 2011 7:35 pm

    MOOOkXi!! first of all WELCOME back!! I know i have already talked to you but just wanted to say it again! also, thank you for the photos!! they are great! my faves = red velvet cake, first one and unknowing suspects one. (in that order) + did you like red velvet cake?? i have been dying to try this since you told me it existed!! oh and you didn´t tell me about Bel´s paranoia! i want to hear this story in person …i love a good OCD story LOL! will speak to you soon! (cant wait to be back on fb so i can see these photos!) i send you much love from my current location! adios!

    • mookxi permalink*
      February 25, 2011 2:04 am

      YES I LOVE RED VELVET CAKE even though I’m not a fan of beetroot. I had red velvet cupcake at Joy’s and was unfortunately disappointed. I ended up stealing bitesful of mum’s baklava flavoured one which was delectable ! I’ve checked off half the flavours now ;-P

      Roflmao ! Will give you all the details when you’re on skype !

  5. February 25, 2011 1:01 pm

    Whoa it looks so sunny there =’D welcome back ^^!

  6. February 25, 2011 11:37 pm

    ur back!! :) welcome back
    enjoyed ur blog n tag vid!
    orange hey? ;) :D

    u saw VS in Hawaii kool! :)
    looks like u had FUN!

    Yep I will be doing review on the VS products as I use them :D

  7. February 26, 2011 7:21 am

    Mookxi?! You’re back?? :D
    Looks like you had fun! The weather looks amazing too. Is Hawaii the first state you’ve been to?
    Next time you want to visit a state I’d recommend Florida or Las Vegas Nevada! :) those places are funtastic! lol :)
    I’m really jealous of that red velvet cheesecake by the way…today after school I went to get some red velvet flavored ice cream and the lady was like “umm we ain’t got none of that no more.” geez, talk about bad grammar. :/

    • mookxi permalink*
      February 28, 2011 12:27 pm

      I am ! Hawaii is the third state ;-) I’ve been to New York and California in 2010 but definitely must see more in the US and will take your recommendation on board :-D !

      Red velvet flavoured ice cream ?? I want some too ! I think I might have to attempt to make a red velvet cake now.

  8. February 26, 2011 3:01 pm

    Hey Mookxi! Thanks for your sweet comment on my (totally neglected ;) blog recently. I appreciated it a lot :-)
    Will check out the book recommendation ~ thanks again!
    Your blog is super sweet to my hazy OMG I NEED SLEEEEEP it’s 4am WHY AINT I SLEEPIN FFS eyes :P
    Oh this post drew me in, HAWAII! Super duper rad and jealouzzzz you got to go :D Wonderful pictures, my brother always gets really wary and paranoid when we go abroad to Hong Kong, it’s kinda weird but understandabubble! Can’t wait to read more of your blog, Jules x

  9. February 27, 2011 3:43 pm

    I really like that photo of the couple on the beach. Fantastic shot ! (you must have a decent camera?)

    Also I heard about ‘A Void’ from a friend of mine, she was given a copy to read by a lecturer of some description. In your opinion is it worth reading beyond the novelty value? (wouldn’t want to have been the one who had to translate the book into English)

    • mookxi permalink*
      February 28, 2011 12:43 pm

      Thank you very much :-) They were taken with a Canon EOS 550D that I got not too long ago — I really love playing around with it !

      I haven’t finished it yet (about half way through !) but I hate to admit that, while there are some brilliants parts like Perec’s adaption of William Shakespeare’s ‘To be, or not to be’, and Edgar Allen Poe’s ‘The Raven’, I feel like the flow isn’t very good making it a difficult book to follow ! I think perhaps I might end up liking the idea of this book more than the book itself ! But you’re right, I definitely would not have wanted to be the one translating it. I think Gilbert Adair has done what seems like a wonderful job of it but I wonder if the book might read better in French. Might see if I can find this in my local library ;-)

  10. February 28, 2011 6:50 am

    Looked like an awesome trip.

  11. February 28, 2011 6:41 pm

    ooo’ nice camera choice. ; )

    I’m still suffering buyers remorse from my dslr purchase. But once that has worn off
    and I can look at it without feeling guilty and or slightly sick, should be a lot of fun : )

    • mookxi permalink*
      February 28, 2011 10:22 pm

      What camera do you use ? A Nikon ? :-P

  12. February 28, 2011 11:23 pm

    Lol no, I’m not a monster.

    Canon 5d Mark II

    I have no idea why I bought it. . . Well that’s a blatant lie; I bought it because my previous
    girlfriend of 6 years had been a photographer and I missed it being a part of my life. But once purchased, the camera (amazingly nice though it is) didn’t end up making me feel the way I had expected. (shock horror)

    But as I have resolved a few thing’s over the last year or so I have slowly been getting back into it :)

    And yes 90% of anything I say comes along with some kind of unsolicited sob story about heartbreak. ;)

    • mookxi permalink*
      March 1, 2011 7:09 pm

      Wow, nice ! I had eyed the ones from the mark series but wouldn’t have been able to justify forking out that much considering I’m just a person who likes to take photos of things sometimes.. aka, not a photographer ! Well I hope you’re not regretting it too much because that’s an awesome camera and the possibilities are endless (to an extent haha) with the things you can do with it. Are there photos on your blog taken by you ? I would like to see them !

      HAHA, it’s okay, as long as the sob stories are interesting :-P

  13. March 1, 2011 9:23 pm

    haha I’m not a photographer either hens the guilt. But I figured that I will never have to buy another camera again for as long as I live :)

    No I don’t at the moment, I have only really been out shooting twice since I bought it but I will put some up for you to take a look at.

    Also I might add

    ‘apparently it’s illegal to use tranquilisers on humans as they would knock out a human permenantly. ‘ – made me laugh out loud (and not in an ironic ‘lol’ way)…

Leave a Reply

