Skip to content

The day I disliked shopping more than usual

December 27, 2010

What do you guys eat for Christmas ? Do you have any traditions ? We annually eat the usual: turkey, ham, and vegetables. And for dessert: Christmas pudding and mince pies (yuck !). I’ve always really disliked Christmas desserts, cause’ they just don’t go well with my palate as I generally like my fruit and cake to be separated ! :-P In Europe though, the desserts are much to my liking ! I fondly remember eating galette des rois or the ‘king’s cake’ (though that’s more during new years for the epiphany !) in France with my mum and her penpal, who she’s written to since she was 14 and he was 14, and their family, and then my absolute FAVOURITE, polvorón from Spain ! I’ve been hinting to my best friend Nicole about how much I love polvorón and how much I wish I could eat it every minute for Christmas and, smart girl that she is, sent some to me from Andalusia, where she’s been for the past 3 (?) months — lucky girl !! SERIOUSLY YOU ARE SO SO SO AWESOME. THIS IS THE BEST PRESENT EVER !!! !!! I wish it was an everlasting supply :-P But my waistline is glad that it isn’t ! X-D

There are four different varieties in the pack !


 

1. Polvorón de Almendras

 

I tried this one first (for breakfast) with my sister. It’s extremely soft & smooth, with almonds inside. Absolutely delicious and fattening. but I’ll allow it once a year ! Haha. The ingredient son the back say: wheat flour, sugar, almonds, sesame, lard and cinnamon, 35 grams net weight. Thank you google translate !


 

2. Mantecado Casero

 

This one had a stronger cinnamon taste, which is probably why it is browner. Not a huge, huge fan of the sesame seeds (I prefer almonds !), but still very very delicious. The ingredients include: wheat flour, sugar, animal fat, sesame, cinnamon and antioxidants, eggs, nuts, sesame and wine.

 

3. Polvorones Flecos

 

I absolutely love the packaging of El Patriarca sweets ! The blue on red on white and the fringe paper wrapping ;-D I think I had this exact type of polvorón when I was in Barcelona so happy memories. This one was more like a biscuit, but softer as it didn’t crumble as much as the first. Ingredients are: wheat flour, sugar, animal fat, natural lemon flavor, natural aroma of cloves and antioxidants.

 

4. Roscos de Vino con Almendra a Moño

 

I had to do a bit of research because I wasn’t sure if this was a polvorón as it was much crumblier than the rest and it crumbled before I could see its shape ! As it turns out these are donut-shaped cookies popular around Christmas time so they have a harder, crunchier texture. For anyone interested in getting them in Melbourne, I have seen them in Casa Iberica in Fitzroy ! Hurry though, as I think they only stock them during December – January period. I couldn’t find them when I went there later in the year :-/

 

Conclusion ?

 

My favourites were probably were Polvorón de Almendras (#1) and Polvorones Flecos (#3). I love how the first one has giant almonds in them and how they just melt in your mouth (it probably has the highest animal fat content out of all of them !) and the traditional packaging of the third. Finally, JE T’ADORE NICOLE <333333.

Story behind the title —

Boxing Day (= day where people pack their unwanted gifts back in their boxes and give them to someone else :-P haha, nah — I’m just guessing. I don’t know what Boxing Day actually is besides a HUGE day of sales !). I was watching on the news how apparently there were all these people camping outside Myer (in the city) & David Jones since 9pm on the 25th in anticipation for the Boxing Day 26th sales ! CRAZY. Yeah, so most things are reduced quite drastically but seriously, the crowds are out-of-control. Like my sister said, it’s just not natural to have that many people cramped in such a small amount of space. Still, it was a successful enough day (because there’s nothing more unproductive than wasting 5 hours in a mall and coming home with nothing >.<). Came out with two pairs of leggings from Metalicus (old people’s brand), two pairs of Cheap Monday jeans, and a 6-piece set of beautiful, beautiful Global knives ! I can’t wait to use them and make food for y’all ! :-D

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2010 12:04 pm

    animal fat or not I wanna try those…god i have such a sweet tooth! The Mantecado Casero in particular “speaks” to me hahaha prolly b/c it reminds me of an iced cookie ^_^

  2. December 28, 2010 12:25 am

    :O I’d like to try those someday even though I am not a sweets person but they look so tempting >.<

    And I don't like going out around Christmas time just because it's packed with people (and of whom are mostly rude).

  3. December 28, 2010 12:41 am

    I THINK YOU ARE GOING TO MAKE ME HUNGRY AGAIN.
    And look at the time! It’s 12.39AM ;A; ! ahhhhhhhhh. I still want to try theseee mmmm. And lol, Boxing Day sales. I’ve never been out on Boxing Day mainly because the thought of a bunch of smelly people rushing in to one place to find tonnes of marked down stuff that probably aren’t that good or are in the wrong size makes me a bit freaked out :( But I should probably go one day to see what the hype is all about. Maybe one day, you’ll see me on the news kicking someone in the face for a $10 dress (H) ?

  4. December 29, 2010 2:20 pm

    i’ve never heard of polvorón but they look very interesting!! they look very dry though… i wonder if i’d like them…haha

    and boxing day! i just made a blogpost about it, it’s just a mad day especially for electronics! got myself some good deals nonetheless ;)

  5. January 2, 2011 9:29 am

    oh I am quite fond of polvoron! gah, I wish we have boxer’s day here, I swear I’d be all armored and stuff!

  6. January 2, 2011 11:52 pm

    Naww, you’re such a sweet heart! HAHAHA! :$ Your comments always melt my heart. x)
    Yay! You bought a knife set. How exciting! x) HAHA
    Hey, Mookxi! I hope you had a wonderful day/night celebrating the end/beginning of a new year! :)
    Have you received my Christmas card yet? I think about it every day! :( LOL! I really want you to see it!!! :(
    Oooh, when you watch ‘Love and other drugs’, do tell me so we can chat about it. :)
    Goodness me, show!!! Show me the recording! I want to know what you sound like. HAHA! I can’t wait until next year! :'(
    Also, I’ve always been a little bit more mature than others my age. I’ve been blogging since I was 13, LOL! And I remember in one of the blogs that I owned… I was 15 at the time, someone had criticised that I wrote like a 25 year old and that I should stick to talking and writing like how all 15 year olds write. HAHAHA… how absolutely ridiculous! :P
    I hope all is well and happy new year!
    P.S. your deserts you blogged about are making me so hungry!!! They look absolutely scrumptious! x)
    xx

    • mookxi permalink*
      January 8, 2011 10:58 am

      Nothing says LOVE like a very sharp knife !

      And yes I have received your Christmas card and I love it ! (see above post ;-D)

      Roflmao. Check my vimeo ;-P I probably will record something else, something less dodgy .. !

  7. January 5, 2011 2:20 am

    Happy new year !

  8. nicole permalink
    January 6, 2011 2:27 am

    :D :D JE T’ADORE AUSSI!!! SOOOO happy you liked your gift!!! And totally agree with you on the favorites! My order for favorites is EXACTLY the same. But I have never tried those Roscos; I really liked the Roscos with aniseed and thought that the ones I sent would be similar (which is why i put a couple of those in the pack) but seems that i was wrong…oh and you know the #1 is handmade by nuns. That’s why it says ‘Las Monjas’ on it. Am glad that I could send you a little bit of Andalucia so you could enjoy it with me!!! :) talk soon!

    • mookxi permalink*
      January 8, 2011 11:02 am

      BY NUNS ?! They’re so talented. I wish I could learn to make them !

      Let’s skype this weekend !

      • nicole permalink
        January 11, 2011 1:58 am

        ahhh!! i was in Madrid this weekend. :( –> can we Skype this Friday? msn message me if yes and let me know what time etc :D

  9. January 6, 2011 10:45 pm

    Oh my! These look delicious!!

  10. January 7, 2011 9:03 pm

    those look very interesting! ^^
    happy new yr!

    Lara xo

Leave a Reply

