Skip to content

The day I celebrated a birthday at breakfast

November 13, 2010
Jetstream, Mach II, FriXion & Tradio !


Whenever exam time comes around (October – November), I always buy a bunch of pens cause’ I fear of running out of ink during an exam ! >.< Worst thing to happen. Actually, worst thing to happen is you don’t hear your alarm and you sleep in (that’s why I always get dad to ring me up in the morning just in case .. haha !) ! Any who, here they are .. quick review + swatches below:

Above: Uni-ball SXR-7 jetstream ballpoint pen refill 0.7mm (blue, red, and black ink ~ I accidentally left the black one out in the photo !)

From left to right: Uni-ball jetstream ballpoint pen 0.7mm x 4 (black ink), Morning Glory Mach II liquid ink pen 0.4mm (in black, blue, red, green, violet, and pink), Pilot frixion point gel ink pen 0.4mm (in black, navy, and brown), and Pentel tradio energel combo pen 0.7mm (black ink).

Uni-ball Jetstream ballpoint pens



I know I’m not the first to rave about these pens but I just love jetstream ink ! It’s just the smoothest, inkiest, economical ballpoint pen for the quality you get ! It’s bit difficult to find the 0.5mm & the 0.7mm in Australia (the one I go in the city stocks them — My Office) because most ballpoint pens here are 1.0mm which is pretty thick but if that doesn’t bother you, then definitely try and look for this one. It used to be stocked at the Co-op store at university, but not sure if it’s there any more. Downsides ? A few people have said they’ve had problems with the ink clogging up. I’ve noticed with my 1.0mm one, the colour has started to become less pigmented, which is why I have given 4/5 for pigmentation. Not sure why even though it’s got 1-2cm left of ink in it ! Overall, this is my go-to pen for everyday writing !

Price: $$$
Pigmentation
: 4/5
Smoothness: 5/5

Precision: 4/5
Weight: Light
Grip: 3/5
Overall: 4/5


Morning Glory Mach II liquid ink pens



I randomly bought a black one of these pens because they were so cheap (especially relative to fine point liquid ink pens we had to get in school). I didn’t expect much from it though mainly because it’s Morning Glory, which isn’t exactly known for its high quality. When I think about Morning Glory I associate the brand with “kawaii”, “stuff toys”, “cheap”, and “euphemism” ;-P. So at first use I was really surprised at how well this pen wrote ! I thought it was pretty comparable to the Pilot Hi-Tecpoint V5 extra fine pen except more scratchy. However, using it more I’ve realised that the fine point is definitely not as sturdy as its Pilot counterpart. If you’re not careful and press too hard (like me), you might ruin the point and ink will not come out of the tip properly ! This has happened to one of the black pens.

Price: $$$
Pigmentation: 4/5
Smoothness: 3/5
Precision: 4/5
Weight: Light
Grip: 1/5
Overall: 3/5


Pilot FriXion point 04 gel ink pens



I had such high expectations for these pens because the FriXion 0.7mm colour set I bought awhile back was very impressive in terms of uniqueness of colours and colour payoff ! These however are nothing like the originals which have rich, deep colours. As you can see from the above photo which I took in natural light, the navy looks like grey-blue, the black is more like grey, and the brown is kind of like a medium tea brown. Not what I expected at all ! Luckily, I only bought three colours because I definitely will not repurchase ! Though perhaps some people will like this faded look. Props for the design. I must admit, it’s a very cool looking pen.

Price: $$$
Pigmentation
: 1/5

Smoothness: 3/5
Precision: 3/5
Weight: Light
Grip: 3/5
Overall: 2/5


Pentel Tradio Energel Combo pen



Remember Pentel pens ? I remember using their ink pens in junior and high school cause’ they had all these cool pastel & fluoro colours ! I don’t think I’ve used any Pentel pens since ! I don’t know why .. I don’t think they’re very popular here. I guess some of the crazy colours look unprofessional when writing and can be blinding to the eyes. However, you can’t deny the creamy, smooth texture their ink pens have. It’s wonderful to write with but I’m guessing it’s not going to last me very long because of how inky it is !

Price: $$$
Pigmentation
: 5/5

Smoothness: 4/5
Precision: 3/5
Weight: Light
Grip: 3/5
Overall: 4/5


Uni-ball Jetstream ballpoint pen refills


I think it’s great the jetstream pens are refillable ! Less plastic wastage = better for the environment ;-)

Anyway, hope all you closet pen addicts out there find this post useful ! I’ve been meaning to do another posts of pens for awhile but never got around to doing it. That’s why having 101/1001 here is good ! It serves as a reminder of all the things I want to do. Also, I’m thinking of doing a blog give away, just as a thanks for those reading. It means the world to me that you read the text ;-)

This post is related to goal 44.

Story behind the title —

One of my close friends decided to celebrate her birthday at breakfast ! I thought that was such an awesome idea. We love breakfast. And EGGS ;-D

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2010 6:28 pm

    I love love love love love loveeee pens !
    I would totally buy a lot of pens for my exams ..but all of my exams require me to write in pencil :\ so I guess that doesn’t really help anything. But eh. I STILL LOVE PENS!

    I’ve noticed that Australia doesn’t seem to like to stock thin pens though which I absolutely loveee because it makes notes seem much neater? I don’t know. Easier to read I guess. :D

    Btw, which Morning Glory did you go to ?
    For some reason, I thought Morning Glory closed down in all the places I knew *-* But then again, I don’t go out that much </3

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 15, 2010 1:42 am

      PENCIL ?! Wow ! What subjects ? We generally have to write in pen for everything except graphs. Haha, I still find it strange that some people always write in pencil because it reminds me of primary school when we were only allowed to write in pencil until we got our pen licence !

      Unfortunately, that’s true. You can only find really thin pens in specialty stores like the Japanese ones or you can buy those fine liners at Officeworks but it’s not the same because there’s such a limited choice !

      Yes, Morning Glory is now closed down but there are still a couple of places where you can locate these pens. Tokuya on Bourke Street and I think the Bourke St arcade ;-)

  2. November 13, 2010 6:40 pm

    Hey Mookxi!! you’re doing reviews on pens XD? I love jetstream too, i use them for exams so i can write faster in the 2 hours XD

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 15, 2010 1:09 am

      :-P Don’t laugh at me. I never grew out of liking stationary hahaha. It makes SUCH a difference with the right ink, doesn’t it ? ;-D

  3. ames4eva permalink
    November 13, 2010 7:19 pm

    I’ve been looking for some good writing pens so thank you! Will go find some jetstream to try :).

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 15, 2010 1:53 am

      No worries, let me know if you like them ;-)

  4. November 14, 2010 5:36 am

    GONNA CHECK THIS OUT NEXT MONTH!!!
    I love pens too.
    I’m eyeing on the pink and violet one teehee

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 15, 2010 1:26 am

      I’ll take you to all those Japanese stationary stores ! ;-D

  5. November 14, 2010 5:04 pm

    Okay now I feel like shopping for new pens lol!! D;

  6. November 23, 2010 8:01 am

    Okay this might be a weird comment but I loove your handwriting xb

    Haha cute post :b

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 23, 2010 6:34 pm

      Hahah ;-P can you read it ? Thanks so much ! Not weird at all !

Leave a Reply

