Skip to content

The day the postman said sorry

November 11, 2010

My mum taught me a lot of things. She taught me how to eat well. She taught me how to align my furniture so that my chi was optimised. She taught me how to secure a husband. But most of all, she taught me how to give.  She said that she didn’t believe in parents hoarding all the presents to give their children at Christmas and that it’s better to give throughout the year or without occasion. She said that kids don’t learn to give when they don’t see their parents giving and that most people don’t know how to part with their money, even when they have a lot of it. I remember asking her “why don’t people know how to give ?” and she responded that it was often because they did not receive much, that some people are scared to give anything away because they feel they don’t have much or that it will all go away. I thought that was interesting. She said that these people don’t realise that it all comes back to you: when you give, you receive ten fold. Something like that.

I’m not saying that I agree with her 100% (as I often don’t ! :-P), but I do know that I am lucky to be the daughter of my mother and father. They have both given me so much. Food for my stomach, an education, a roof over my head. The list could go on. So I know what kind of person I want to be. The kind of person that shows the same thoughtfulness. The kind of person who knows how to give.

If you’re reading this blog now, know that you have received more than the 1.7 billion people in the world who most likely are illiterate and living in destitute. Sometimes I wonder how I got this way, when I could have easily been part of that sad statistic. I sort of feel convicted, almost like  I have some kind of moral duty. If we have so much already, why ? Do we just spend it on ourselves ? Do we share it with others ? Why / why not ?

OK. So that was a very long-winded introduction to the latest addition to the blogging schedule. Point is, I like to buy/make/bake things to give people (the look on their face is usually rewarding/amusing !). And I know Christmas and other random festivities are coming up so I thought a gift guide might be of use to some in case you’re racking your brain for ideas. I don’t know what people’s budgets are so they can be anything from $ to $$$. Or you can even get inspired and make the present ;-) (I’ve never been good with my hands so I usually do not do this ..).


Mookxi’s gift guide to paper goods  

 

 

    1. Keep calm and drink coffee poster by Keep Calm Shop
    2. A Field Guide to Typestaches poster by Old Tom Foolery
    3. 2011 daily colour a month diary by Moleskine
    4. Advent calendar by Uusi
    5. 2011 calendar by The Pepper & Cinnamon Store
    6. Ferris wheel pop-up card kit from Upon a Fold

 

Mookxi’s gift guide to
gizmos & gadgets  

 

 

    1. TMA-1 headphones by AIAIAI
    2. Pro-Ject debut III turntable by Pro-Ject Audio Systems
    3. 4.5mm F2.8 EX DC HSM circular fisheye by Sigma
    4. Instax 210 Wide by Fujifilm
    5. Iplunge stand by Urban Outfitters
    6. Instax mini 50S by Fujifilm

 

Obviously you can see that I have a polaroid camera fetish. And a paper goods fetish. I am just fetishistic in general. Can you tell that I like the word ‘fetish’ ? It’s probably my top ten favourite words (it’s right up there next to ‘moist’ X-D) !

 

Upcoming: books, jewellery, shoes ;-)


Is there anything you want to see here ?
Your suggestions are more than welcome !

Story behind the title —

I got a present from the postman this morning who buzzed up at around 7-something AM. He was like “sorry for waking you up but enjoy your present“. I had actually been awake for hours -.-”. DID I LOOK THAT BAD ? Probably, because the night before I fell asleep without changing, brushing up or showering. I just collapsed and had 10 hours of the best sleep I’ve had for 2 months !

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 1:46 pm

    Yes you should hold one :) and feel free to join mine too <3 good luck to you!

  2. November 11, 2010 1:48 pm

    just saw what you wrote in another comment, you have 2 boxes of used stuff?!!? OMG you must be so diligent in finishing those products hahahaa and loyal to them too! Am looking forward to reviews from you :D:D

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 12, 2010 6:28 pm

      Haha !! I try to make my money stretch as far as it can ! ;-D I’m also a bit of a cynic so I like to do a bit of research before buying anything that I’m going to smear on my face/body/hair because I’m weary of side-effects and certain chemicals put into products !

  3. November 11, 2010 11:15 pm

    HAHAHA! “Moist”, HAHA! Awesome word. It makes me think of A Cinderella Movie where Jennifer Coolidge (American Pie – Stifler’s mum) offers a cookie to Hilary Duff’s character and she’s like, “have a cookie… they’re so moist” with a whole lot of cookie in her mouth so her speech becomes muffled, HAHA!
    Maybe you won’t find it as funny as me… :( LOL!

    & also, they’re awesome ideas for gifts. Now I just need ideas for saving money! HAHAHA

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 12, 2010 6:32 pm

      ROFLMAO ! I vaguely remember that moment ! She always plays the most ridiculous characters ;-P

      Ideas for saving money: quit spending ! Haha, unfortunately it’s difficult to save around this time of year !

  4. November 12, 2010 3:56 pm

    Giving is great – i love seeing their expressions too… especially when i know it’s something they’ve been wanting for a while or something they totally weren’t expecting. I like being”santa” haha! (but at the same time it sucks during Christmas when you HAVE to find them something they like b/c usually when you’re looking for something, you can’t find it.. you end up finding it like in March when Christmas is way over. hahaha) Anyyyyywhoooo – love the typestaches the most! :D

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 13, 2010 4:57 pm

      I know what you mean ! I’d actually prefer it if they didn’t give me a list (the pressure !) and give it my own thought ;-P But it is the safer bet !

Leave a Reply

