Skip to content

The day I ate a lamb’s shoulder and it was good

November 5, 2010

Another love link Friday ! This one’s a quickie. Obviously I have been spending too much time on youtube instead of studying ! Also, we ate a lot at Cumulus tonight and I drank A LOT .. >.< Not my idea.. This will hopefully cheer all your zombie-eyed folks studying for exams ! Just a couple of quick tips from the ever so funny Tyra Banks:


Story behind the title —

Family went to Cumulus to eat dinner tonight. We ordered the steak, potatoes, crab, broccolini with pig’s cheek, and the lamb shoulder. SO AMAZINGLY EXCELLENT (even though I was totally full of liquid due to all the grog I drank earlier at the pub near uni ..) ! The lamb was so succulent, tender, and moist. Probably the best thing I’ve tried off the menu (& I’ve tried a lot .. nom nom nom :-P). It’s definitely the kind of food that is preventing me from becoming a vegetarian/vegan ! I would suggest that everyone tries this, however it’s a VERY large dish and could be shared by four !

20 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2010 11:44 pm

    Awesome! HAHAHAHAHA!
    I love Tyra Banks! <3
    & I saw the difference! :P
    I hope all is well. :)

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 9, 2010 4:52 pm

      Haha you’ve got a good eye ! ;-P All will be well tomorrow ! Study on !

  2. November 6, 2010 1:31 am

    Hi there! thanks for your kind comment on my blog post about MAC :)

    I tried only one of the Kose Visee palettes i ordered, and i’m not very impressed by its pigmentation. I have yet to try out the others though! But i agree with you there – most asian shadows aren’t as pigmented as western counterparts, that’s true! But possibly because asians are whiter :)? So they don’t need to be as pigmented as, say, NARS, to show up on white skin I guess :P anyhow, I prefer pigmentation sometimes I prefer the ‘matched’ color that Asian makeup palettes have (a palette shaped like an eyelid and you know which to apply to where that sort of thing).

    I kinda regretted buying the Black Swan liner, should have gotten it in Lord It Up because i use brown more than black liners. Anyhow! MAC’s smudged on my eye (can’t believe it, right?) and UD doesn’t :S!

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 11, 2010 11:37 am

      So strange ! :-P

      I don’t know how water/smudge proof the pearlglides from the Tartan collection are ! I usually use the powerpoint eye pencils especially on the upper lid and they don’t tend to make a mess but when I use the UD can disappear by the end of the day. However the UD ones work really well on the waterline ! ;-D

  3. November 6, 2010 6:53 am

    @mookixi.com: you can find it just about anywhere online. they range from about $3-8 depending on where you buy. you should def. purchase and try! ( :

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 11, 2010 11:54 am

      Thanks ! Found it ;-)

  4. November 7, 2010 1:40 am

    I still can’t figure how to smile with my eyes! hahaha

  5. November 7, 2010 3:29 am

    OMG I love lamb!!!!! Did you take pics, I’d love to slobber over it lol xD

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 9, 2010 6:53 pm

      Unfortunately no :-/ but i’ll be sure to next time I go ! It’s one of those places with mood lighting though so not sure how great the quality will be ;-x Perhaps I’ll use the fuji instax ;-)

  6. November 7, 2010 8:08 pm

    I learned my tricks from Tyra, fo sho ;D

    I don’t rly like lamb. There’s a certain taste of the meat I don’t like. I also don’t like the taste of beef or pork. But I like eating pig ears, you know what I mean? Those thin chewy pieces of the pig’s ear… So good. I think I could be a vegetarian, cuz I’m so picky when it comes to meat, hahaha. But I love pig ears too much. And chicken!!! Mmmmm.

    In reply to your comment, I agree that it is very “confronting”, I guess. It makes me think about a lot of things, whenever I hear a death. Even when Daul Kim died last year, someone I haven’t heard of until her death (she was a model who committed suicide at 20-something), it made me think hard about life and how easy it is to toss it away.

    Oh, and I still think 70 is expensive!!! On a student budget haha. I think I can make my own molecular necklace, psssh. With like metal and a chain :D

    I’d love to read your childhood post. Reading about ppl’s childhoods makes me happy. And ppl always have interesting stories to tell!

    Thanks! I don’t rly like my layout >.< I keep changing it cuz I'm not satisfied with it. I'll probably keep changing it haha.

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 11, 2010 11:58 am

      HAHA NO BEEF/PORK BUT PIG’S EARS ?? X-D Can’t say I’ve actually tried it though .. ! I’ll try anything at least once ! I even tried blood sausages (boudin noir) .. BAD IDEA !

      I heard about her death only very recently. I can imagine suicide isn’t uncommon in that industry ! ;-/

      I will be writing a lot this summer I think so I’d love for you to read it ;-)

  7. November 7, 2010 9:25 pm

    I love Tyra! I always wait for the new antm. I like the smising (or what she called it>< smile with your eyes) part. Me and my friend try a lot how to do it, but we just gave up xp

    Ahh… You love France too! We have thing in common;D I'll definitely visit France and Paris someday(:

    In my country, Indonesia, it's not a common thing to celebrate Halloween. So sad.. But when we go to malls, they usually make Halloween decoration and sometimes, they provide us something spooky like Haunted House or else(: How bout you?

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 11, 2010 12:28 pm

      Nahh, we aussies don’t celebrate Halloween .. which is surprising since we usually take whatever holiday we can as an excuse to get off work and go drinking ! Haha.

      Definitely go to France ;-)

  8. November 7, 2010 9:44 pm

    Hi there!
    In my country, Indonesia, it’s not a common thing to celebrate Halloween. But when we go to the malls, the usually make Halloween decoration and provide us something like Haunted House or else. There’s no trick or treat or costume party. So sad.. How bout you?

    Aahh.. you like France too! We have thing in common then((: I’ll definitely visit France and Paris someday (before I die xp)

    I love Tyra. I always wait for the new antm. I like the smizing part. Me and my friend try a lot how to do it, but we just gave up. haha..

    Cheers,
    Dreamy Princess
    ~I wonder what it’s like to live in Paris~

  9. November 8, 2010 3:52 am

    Hahah I love Tyra she’s a nut x

  10. November 8, 2010 10:42 am

    Hhaha you don’t have to hoochify yourself to be beautiful! ^^

    I’m from Alberta actually, so Van is about an hr and half flight away. Van is so much fun! so much eating to do there, it makes me fat while on vacation lol

  11. November 9, 2010 6:26 am

    Oh Tyra – SMIZE! ;P

    As for lambs shoulder – I’ve actually only RECENTLY started liking lamb. The thing with me is that it’s such a “mental” thing for me but if you don’t tell me what it is, most likely i will enjoy it. For example, many years ago, I visited the Philippines to see my cousins. They took my brother and I to a restaurant and served us a dish which i’ve never tried before. I was enjoying it so much and at the end…they were like “you know what you just ate? innards!!!” i never would’ve touched it if they told me beforehand but now i love that dish! haha!

  12. November 9, 2010 6:27 am

    Hmmmm… I just left a comment but i don’t see it up? Let me know if you got it!

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 11, 2010 12:18 pm

      I got it ;-D

      Innards .. roflmao. I could see me liking that if only they kept the fact that it’s chicken guts to themselves .. !

  13. November 9, 2010 8:58 am

    The gloves are from Armani Exchange!

Leave a Reply

