Skip to content

The day you called me, even though you were hungry

October 29, 2010

This will be love link Friday’s first post ! Enjoy ;-)

#1. How To Be Alone. This has been posted and reposted so many times but I can’t help it. This is such a beautiful video. Some would say it’s probably targeted more for the heartbroken and lonely, but I think there’s something for everyone to take. Although I’m all for love & romance and so-fairytale-it-makes-me-sick concepts, I also think it’s important to, every so often, spend time alone, and have some down-time with yourself. Besides, if you can’t enjoy your own company and need need need to be with someone all the time, who else will ?


 

#2. Five grammatical errors that make you look dumb (because I hang around too many English majors !)

#3. Aroha Silhouettes ! Aroha’s molecular structure necklaces are so cool and would make an awesome present for those geeky science chicks and dudes out there :-P Check out their other creations too. Really wonderful ;-D

“Almost all aspects of life are engineered at the molecular level, and without understanding molecules we can only have a very sketchy understanding of life itself.”

 


Story behind the title —

Thanks for calling me even though you were probably very hungry and slightly cranky because of lack of things (e.g. cold pizza) in your stomach & sickness ;-P I hope you’re at your best soon ! And I should be used to doing everything myself but sometimes I let go of the reins. Run wild my pretties.

On a random note, I got a fringe. Decided I need something to cover up my boutons aka pustular pimples that have accumulated on my forehead due to 1) lack of sleep 2) lack of nutrition 3) “too much” studying (if there can ever be such a thing !)


20 Comments leave one →
  1. ames4eva permalink
    October 30, 2010 12:22 pm

    I havent’ seen that video before but I love it just the same :). It’s so true how we’re taught that society will judge us if we’re doing something alone but I find that it’s only when you can enjoy solitude that you can have full appreciation for the company of others too… if that makes sense.

    Argh, and yeah those grammatical errors really get to me though I can’t say that I’ve been a perfect saint in that areas lol

    Love the necklaces and the fringe ! Will you be at home next Weds? Might drop by and ‘study’ if you’re there ;).

    • mookxi permalink*
      October 31, 2010 10:07 pm

      You’re not as nonsensical as you think Amy ;-P I might be at uni for consultation on Wednesday but depends what time ! All the best with studying !

  2. October 30, 2010 1:04 pm

    Hii =)
    wow u have great website! love your lipstick!! i should take pic with red lipstick hehehe :D
    thats a good video, never see before thanks for sharing :)

    • mookxi permalink*
      October 31, 2010 10:09 pm

      Thanks heaps & you’re welcome ;-D I have swatched a couple of NYX ones and will post here in future ;-) This one above is NYX in colour ‘Fire’. It looks more red in the picture but actually has a magenta undertone to it ! Very unique !

  3. October 30, 2010 2:06 pm

    I haven’t seen the video either, it’s kinda sad, but more poetic and true. Honestly I prefer being alone than with friends. I love spending time with my sister or family more than anyone.
    I just get super annoyed with friends because everyone seems to be so full of lies and backstabbing habits these days. PLUS I get a lot more done when I’m alone! Hehe. :)

    • mookxi permalink*
      October 31, 2010 11:36 pm

      Haha, I might not go so far as to say I prefer my own company over others all the time as I do love quality conversations with dear friends but on some days it’s better ! But yes, you do tend to get a lot more done alone e.g. work ! X-D I hope you enjoyed the video ;-)

  4. October 30, 2010 11:00 pm

    love the video!
    :)

  5. October 31, 2010 12:22 am

    Hiii! Thanks so much for your comment! It’s really sweet of you <3 : D

    Is that your real natural haircolor btw? O_O'' it looks so perfect it must be fake XD

    • mookxi permalink*
      October 31, 2010 10:15 pm

      HAHAH. You’re welcome ! Well, the top is my real hair colour and the bottom is highlights ;-P That’s the first time I’ve ever had someone say that to me. Usually my hair dresser tells me how unhealthy my hair is especially when he sees all the split ends roflmao X-D.

  6. October 31, 2010 11:33 am

    The video is so beautiful and true. I haven’t been able to be alone much, and I hate it when I’m out alone without a friend. But this past summer, I did so many things alone, I walked to the library alone, bussed to Metrotown alone, went grocery shopping and then clothes shopping alone. It was so wonderful not to have too talk to anyone or dress up or be funny or be who I usually am when I’m in front of people. I even like to bike alone now and walk home from school alone. Everything’s so clear when you’re alone, it’s amazing. Even though the walk home is about 10 mins, it feels like longer and it lets me take time to think things I normally don’t think about. Thanks so much for posting it! Watching it and hearing Tanya’s words makes me feel so much older! I realize now that the ability to be alone comfortably without anxiety and fear comes with age. When I graduate from high school, I will be alone! The thought excites and scares me at the same time O.O

    Those molecular necklaces are so rad!!! Too bad it’s 70 bucks auugh. If it wasn’t, I would buy it in an instant.

    I think most personal bloggers don’t care about punctuation or grammar anymore. I didn’t really care about it until this summer haha. I used to write I’s like “i’s” and used chatspeak in my blogs. I care more about content.

    I love your new fringe!!!

    I don’t rly need a budget b/c I don’t spend much money on anything else BUT clothes. Oh, and my phone bill. I don’t need to buy food (usually), or pay rent or whatever. The amount of money I take in is so small, it doesn’t even feel like I’m earning money, you know?? And I spend… but I only spend when I know it’s a GOOD DEAL. But then, I see good deals everywhere…

    Thank you so much for visiting Soyconfessions xxx

    I’m loving your blog.

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 6, 2010 12:44 am

      I’m so glad that you enjoyed the video as food for thought ^^ I’m always happy to share something, especially when I think it’s encouraging or inspiring or just thought-provoking !

      Hahaha, it’s definitely true. I remember my first blog that I start backed in grade 7 with a couple of my friends was pretty terrible when it came to spelling. But we spoke in the language of our audience which was all TwEenY type X-D ! But since I’m not 12 years old any more, I don’t think I can get away with it !

      Haha, thanks so much for your comments. I loved reading it ! I enjoy long comments ;-b

  7. October 31, 2010 6:13 pm

    thanks for your visit!! s
    sorry i took a while to get back cos of my exams :(
    but your blog is soooo detailed and unique!!!
    YOU look amazingly gorgeouss!!!
    :) keep up the good work and i will be continously visit hehe

    xx
    mooshichui.blogspot.com

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 6, 2010 1:09 am

      Thank you so much Mooshi ! That is a HUGE compliment for me ! ;-D I wish you all the best with your exams !

  8. November 1, 2010 3:40 am

    The video looks really awesome, it’s so true! :D I love the molecular structure necklaces, they are really cool.
    Btw, thanks for stopping by :)

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 6, 2010 1:10 am

      De rien. They are extremely cool ! After exams, I’m going to a do a “gifts” post in time for Christmas with heaps of other interesting necklaces that I have discovered through perusing the web and distracting myself. :-)

  9. November 1, 2010 5:06 am

    Thanks for your visit. The color lenses are not hard to wear at all. They are just like contacts but slightly heavier. You can get them from a variety of websites. I was wearing Dueba DM21 Brown lenses. If you like my blog, feel free to follow me for more updates. Thanks!^0^

    • mookxi permalink*
      November 6, 2010 1:13 am

      Thanks, I’ll have a look-see !

  10. November 3, 2010 6:48 pm

    I’ve never seen How To Be Alone before, thanks for posting this. It’s funny because as I sat down in front of my computer this evening I felt a bit melancholic and I thought how exactly right that I should stumble on your blog with the video being the first post I see.

  11. November 13, 2010 8:03 pm

    ahh benzene rings …this reminds me of orgo. Though I must admit it’s a classy way to put together shapes that made me fail 2 exams in a row ahahha

Leave a Reply

