Skip to content

The day I went mango mad

October 19, 2010

You may or may not have noticed the update in layout if you haven’t been here for awhile, but here it is. Brand, spanking new blog layout (ish) ! About time huh ? I was contemplating contemplating changing the header too but then “NAHH“‘ed the idea since I am lazy and dislike change. Just kidding. I don’t mind change. I welcome it most times with arms wide open if my arms were ever wide open.

Also .. there was something else I was going to mention. Ah yes. I finally got around to getting up my new 101/1001 list which you can have a look at if you so wish. I was supposed to publish a new one as soon as I finished the first but I again reiterate my laziness and dislike for change. Wait .. I refuted the latter, so ignore that. I will also do a post on my experience with this project when I find the motivation to.

 

CAN YOU BELIEVE IT’S BEEN 3 YEARS SINCE I STARTED THIS BLOG ?

ME NEITHER !

 

I just can’t believe (actually I can believe it .. but it seems more common to act shocked) how much has changed since. I should really stop repeating the same words change, change, change over and over and over again. Over the holidays I will revisit the English dictionary (a girl at my school once told me her tutor ordered her to read the dictionary every day) and randomly learn words to expand my limited vocabulary. Whatever, English is not my first language.

Anyway, I never celebrated this blog’s “special” 3 year anniversary, so I will just leave you with a song I composed to a poem I wrote last year. It is not very impressive but I must insist that I only put up these videos to entertain you and also, because I have no shame. Here it is:

 

A young girl
desperately wanting
stood close

looked up
and watched fanciful words
flow out from his angelic lips

Cultivated curiosity
he thought
she believed
and followed
as he led her by the hand
that she was his alone

A new toy
to be played with
they laugh
they cry
they move on
after dust has collected

She grows old
and he is different
the toy is broken
pieces left scattered

But after all
when he is gone
she does not mourn
because she knows what he is

Only human.

Goal completed: 65. write a song, sing it, no matter how bad it is (18 Oct 2010)

Story behind the subtitle —

I just finished off some Homer Hudson sorbet in flavour ‘mango madness’. If you have never tried Homer Hudson, you are not maximising your life. That is all.


3 Comments leave one →
  1. ames4eva permalink
    October 19, 2010 7:18 pm

    omgosh, I just realised that you are no longer mookxi.wordpress.com ! when, how…?

    • mookxi permalink*
      October 19, 2010 11:04 pm

      It was a birthday present ;-D

  2. April 2, 2013 7:54 am

    You can really sing :)!

    One of my goals for a long time has been to write a song and sing it – alas I have little vocal talent but I think in honour of the hours I’ve wasted in my life attempting to sing + make songs – I at least owe it to myself, to accomplish that dream (lol). Making a song was on my goal list for this year and it’s just by chance I stumbled on this post – perhaps fate maybe telling me something 0_0 (perhaps not). Plus the title is mango … ah the coincidence thickens. Anyway just wanted to say well done on accomplishing your goal… and that this very post has further inspired me to dust off my guitar (and guitar learning book) and finish off one of my songs. Thanks! Life is too short to take everything seriously … I guess

    Oh btw your voice sort of reminds me of Regina Specktor (I hope you find that a complement, I truly mean it that way). Off I trot now to make a fool of myself :)

Leave a Reply

