Skip to content

The day I massacred meatballs

August 29, 2010

Herman (perverted name, no ?) & I went to Earl Canteen the other day. First time I heard about it, but Bel told me ‘people’ said it was good. So off I went, driving around in Herman’s Audi, which by the way, got me REAL car sick ! >.< It was an episode of mum driving me to school all over again !

After 20 minutes of trying to find a car park, we were FINALLY there :-D We sat outside (was really busy inside, as you can see from the picture above — lots of business men and women were ordering their fancy baguettes and macaroons, cause’ I mean I guess it’s in the business side of Bourke St). I decided to get a baguette with wagyū meatballs with pickles and mozarella (+ other things I’ve forgotten that were in there !) and Herman got the pork one. Looked like this:

Overall was pretty delicious (not surprising cause’ wagyu beef = fatty = makes love to your mouth) but quite difficult to eat ! Especially Herman’s. Look how piled on the crispy pork is ! We had a knife and fork (I chose not to use utensils) but there’s really no point trying to saw and hack away at the baguette when the bread is so hard ! I would have preferred a softer loaf like the baguettes they use at Lee’s Bakery (perfectly crunchy baguette that is crispy on the outside but really soft on the inside ! To me that is the perfect baguette :-D)


This is what our food looked like after I massacred it ! X-D Mmm balls of meat .. !




Next we had macaroons !

They were TINY ! Unexpectedly so .. ! And for $2.50 — pretty pricey when you can get 6 pretty sizeable ones for $13 at Lindt cafe ! Plus there were only two flavours to choose from — rose & passion fruit. On biting the rose one Herman remarked that it tasted like ‘air freshener’ but I quite liked it though the creme was quite buttery. The passion fruit one, on the other hand, we both agreed that the flavour of the passion fruit was over powered by the thick chocolate inside. I think it would have been better if the inside had a creamier texture but maybe that’s just me being a macaroon elitist ! :-P

PS. Before I forget, here’s an interesting sight we saw opposite Earl Canteen.



6 Comments leave one →
  1. ames4eva permalink
    August 30, 2010 12:06 am

    Are you serious?? (about the sailor boy outfit I mean)

    You should put the address up- I think I read about it on another foodie blog… two recommendations means I gotta go look it up ;).

    See you soon !

    • mookxi permalink*
      August 31, 2010 12:54 am

      YES SERIOUS !

      The address is 500 Bourke St, between Elizabeth St & William St, so if you take the tram, get off at William St & walk towards NAB. Go inside, keep walking straight, up the stairs and it’s on your right ! Check it out & tell me what you think ;-) Or maybe I’ll go with you !!

  2. Ricky permalink
    August 30, 2010 12:14 am

    Hm..this Herman fellow seems like a really interesting guy with a discerning sense of taste/fashion. Plus, he sounds like a really great guy. You shouldn’t criticize his driving/parking because he was only trying to help you relive your childhood memories. Also, aren’t you partly to blame for forcing him to buy an audi instead of his dream hyundai?…I’m just sayin…give the guy a break!

    Oh and Herman is an AWESOME name! I’m going to name my dog that now!!

  3. August 30, 2010 12:53 am

    Digging. That. Outfit.

    Seriously.

    • mookxi permalink*
      August 31, 2010 12:52 am

      I know huh ?!! I seriously just want to go check out that restaurant for the waiter !! Though I don’t think I’ll be able to contain my childish fits of laughter.

  4. Nicole permalink
    September 4, 2010 7:29 pm

    herman?? –> i think i’ve missed something…

Leave a Reply

