Skip to content

The night I listened to the soothing sound of vinyl

June 27, 2010

It’s chilly and raining outside (I can hear it pitter patter). I looked out the window and there were a flock of  girls running around in short skirts and high heels probably off to have a good time at a club or whatever on a Saturday night. Meanwhile, I’m sitting on the floor, unshowered,  and in quite an unsightly state with my laptop on my furry duvet cover, listening to All Of A Sudden I Miss Everyone.

A couple of years ago when my taste swayed more towards pop rock and other similar genres, I dismissed Explosions In The Sky, I guess because I wasn’t ready for it. Music without lyrics ?! But all of a sudden it makes sense. Sometimes non-lyrical music speaks so much louder. And it’s times like this, I’m grateful because words could never describe how I feel and how I felt. While you can often connect in some way to singers  who write about their  life experiences or ones of others’, I can’t help but want to block it out sometimes. This is how life has been for me, and for so many others before me. This is what happens, what is coming and this is how you’re meant to feel. Explosions In The Sky kind of allows you to create  your own meaning. After all, there are no words to steer you in a particular direction. You only get an inkling of  an idea about what the song is trying to depict from the track titles such as So Long, Lonesome and It’s Natural To Be Afraid. And let me tell you, it is truly breath-taking.

Listen to this from beginning to end.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joel H permalink
    August 11, 2010 1:04 am

    <3 <3 <3

    I rate explosions in the sky as one of my top 3 gigs of all time.
    The guys really play with all of their soul and energy. It was amazing stuff.
    =D

    • mookxi permalink*
      August 11, 2010 2:21 am

      When was that ?? Man, I am SO TOTALLY JEALOUS ! I will go next time if/when they come back ! :-D What are your favourite tracks by them ?

Leave a Reply

