Skip to content

My online life (I suck at coming up with titles — can you tell ?)

October 27, 2009

I’ve been doing a lot of what I’d call “proper” blogging lately aka actually writing about what’s going on in my mind and such instead of letting the photographs do the talking. I find that I write a lot better when I’m feeling ’emotional’ rather than the desensitised, detached-self I usually am. It is contradictory to the statement to admit it ?

I also want to experiment with my blog’s content too. As in content less focused on my 101/1001. For that reason, I’ve been contemplating getting a typepad next year — a paid blog that allows me to have my own domain, more customisation (freedom !), with the same awesome blogging tools WordPress provides. Since there’s a trial period, it’s the only service I’ve really been seriously thinking about, though if any of you know of any others that you’d recommend, please share !

Another thing I was thinking about is Facebook. Does ever a day go by that we don’t think about it ? (Except for Amy !) For your average, socially-ept young adolescent, I doubt it ! Even if we’re sick or traveling, we’d try and find a few minutes of our day to log in and see if anyone’s written on our walls or poked us (lame). Well, I’ve been trying to ween myself off it, except to play Plock, and deleted over 200 “friends”. It’s kind of amusing when you get re-adds and in that case, I do re-add them cause’ I mean, they at least give a damn.

My rule of thumb is, if you wouldn’t go up to the person and say hi, then it’s unlikely you’re going to be  suddenly interested in their lives. Unless you’re a stalker. If you are, I have just three words for you that doesn’t have the word ‘love’ in it: FIND ANOTHER HOBBY. I did. (That’s a joke folks.) I know some people just add everyone they know (of) and that’s fine, but today as a 21 year old me, I realise there’s only so much time to cultivate good relationships. I don’t want to find the time for others unless you’re the author of a stunningly awesome blog haha ! So I think I have a morbid fascination of people who do that. Why do you do that thing you do ? Seriously. People are fascinating. Though, not always to me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 2:14 pm

    Wow! I heart this post! I do have the same feeling as you! :)

  2. ames4eva permalink
    October 28, 2009 8:59 am

    yay! I get a special mention hehe
    it makes me feel… well, special :D

    I advocate the more emotional Mel coming out and balancing out the Mookxi ;)

    great post, I hope I haven’t been deleted lol

  3. suz permalink
    November 6, 2009 12:54 pm

    lol
    it’s always soo much fun coming over here to procrastinate ^^ i’m glad you haven’t deleted me off facebook though we haven’t spoken in like AGES :P
    >.< ur leaving soo soon after exams looks like i'm not going to be seeing much of you this summer :(
    lol i'll be keeping an eye out on ur travel blog! ^^
    Gd luck for the exams u have left!

Leave a Reply

