Skip to content

My top 5 writing instruments

June 3, 2009

#15. Post everyday for a month (5/30)

Creativity/Music

15. Post everyday for a month (5/30)

Gaining Knowledge/Intellectual Pursuits

51. Write 30 essays or articles about something I’m interested in and post it online (3/30)

With exam time coming around the corner most people are worrying about all the study they have yet to do. Not me. When exam time comes around, I go on the hunt for the perfect pens to write with. The pens you write with may not seem important to you since a pen is just a pen, no ? But some psychologists argue that using the right pen makes all the difference. Of course, it won’t make a difference if you haven’t studied but if you have it should !

Using a good pen has a huge effect on how you feel about what you’re doing, and how well it gets done. Makes sense right ? If I’m using a pen that I’m comfortable with, that doesn’t hurt my hand after prolonged periods of writing, and that which makes me feel good, it should put me in the right framework for being productive as I write.

So finally, after extensive research and by research I mean ..

Photo854

Here’s the verdict:

Pentel Slicci Gel Ink Pen – 0.4 mm – Blue Black Ink

pentel_bg204-ca

These slicci pens are by far my favourite gel ink pen plus this particular colour is great and my preferred default colour when it comes to writing notes, essays etc ! I’ve already used this pen in two French exams and I felt pretty good when writing with it ! I will be using these puppies for a long time to come ;-D

Let me also note that 0.4mm is, in my opinion,  is the optimal thickness for a pen. It’s thin enough to be precise when, for example, drawing grafts and writing in asian characters, and thick enough to still make your handwriting pleasing to the eye since I find that thinner than 0.4mm for writing in alphabet makes handwriting look kind of .. too pointy/sharp and ultimately ugly !

Pilot FriXion Color-Pencil-Like Erasable Gel Ink Pen – 0.7 mm – 24 Color Set

pilot_lfp-all-0

pilot_lfp-13f-f13

These pens are SERIOUSLY the mother of all erasable pens ! My favourite again a midnight bluey colour ! A clever way to go around the fact that we can’t bring white out to the exam haha. I wouldn’t necessarily use these pens to write an entire essay but when it comes to calculations & the potential for stuffing them up, I’ll be using these.

Zebra Optex Care Fluorescent Highlighters

subI absolutely love these highlighters. They’re eco friendly too apparently. I picked a set of these up in Korea &  have been using them since ! They’re surprisingly very strong colours for thinnish highlighters. But what I love the most about them is that they have two ends — a large tip and a fine tip. I actually didn’t realise this until around 2 months later X-D Will be buying more when I go to Korea ! I’ll be doing a lot of stationary shopping there ^^v

Uni-ball Jetstream F*Series 2 Color 0.5 mm Ballpoint Multi Pen + 0.5 mm Pencil

uni_msxe370105.gs

This multi-pen is super super super useful & the best multi-pen I’ve ever used. It comes with red and black ink as well as a pacer however you can buy different colour refills for it. I’ve bought a blue refill for when I run out and they do run out quite quickly mainly because I write a lot with this pen and also because the ink is fairly inky (but not smudgy ! ^^) which is what I like ! I try and avoid using the pacer because, though they’re not bad, I’ve become far too accustomed to not having to push the top every now and again for lead since using the Magic House automatic pencil that I bought, again, in Korea ! Speaking of which, they are my pick for a pencil !

Magic House Automatic Pencil

magichouse_s

I’ll quote the website because it describe the pencil a lot better than I do X-D >> The Magic House Automatic Pencil senses when you need more lead and automatically advances just the right amount while you write. No clicking, no twisting, no shaking and “NO SHARPENING”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2009 10:04 pm

    LOL I like this entry!

    What happened to you liking fat, chunky, thick-nibbed pens? 0.4mm?! You’ve slimmed down! ;P The magic pencil looks really cool but sort of scary for some reason. All your stationary is so stylish (:

  2. Kai permalink
    June 7, 2009 12:28 am

    Hello!
    Great blog and post. When I think of exams I think of pens as well :) I’m from Australia too, and I was wondering where do you source these pens from usually when you are in Australia? I’ve tried Jetpens, but the shipping costs are quite high.

  3. mookxi permalink*
    June 7, 2009 1:16 am

    @ Grace : I still love my thick-nibbed pens !! But sometimes when pens are so smooth and thick my handwriting just looks uncontrollable X-D Plus you save paper when you write with thinner-nibbed pens because you can fit more on a line ^^ It’s good because I usually use B5 sized exercise books & don’t want to use them up so quickly ! ;-D

    @ Kai : Thanks for your comments ;-DD I got a lot of my pens when I was traveling. Otherwise in the past I’ve gotten some friends to pick them up for me whenever they go to south east asian countries ! Like Muji’s ! X-D Otherwise yeah, Jetpens. Shipping isn’t too bad if you’re buying a lot — I think it starts from $8 if you just buy pens which isn’t too unreasonable. Of course if you’re buying one pen, it’s annoying ! But I find that they’re quite competitive. Otherwise you can try ebay or I know that stationary stores like Officeworks or the one at my uni stock a few of these pens like the uniball jetstream pens which are popular in Asia too. But other than that these kinds of pens are hard to come by in Australia :-/

  4. Kai permalink
    June 8, 2009 11:23 pm

    Haha, it certainly is more economical to buy a lot of pens, however it exacerbates my guilty conscience for buying many more pens despite my room overflowing with them! :) eBay is good for buying pens in bulk usually, so I buy my favorites from there. Pilot G-3 and Zebra Sarasa 0.4mm are right up there. Sometimes Morning Glory shops have some nice cheap pens. I was in heaven when I went to the city Kinokuniya stationary section but the pens are certainly sold at a premium there. Best of luck with your exams!

  5. January 20, 2010 8:27 pm

    some great info here
    i am adding this to my bookmarks…

Trackbacks

  1. #15. Post everyday for a month (16/30) « 6ixx
  2. The day I celebrated a birthday at breakfast « 6ixx

Leave a Reply

