Skip to content

#29. Try 5 new recipes

July 23, 2008
Food

29. Try 5 new recipes (5/5) (July 2008)

Since moving out I’ve had to cook for myself [to survive X-D] so I’ve been adventurous every now and again and tried out some new recipes because I love trying new things !

1. Sigrid’s Carrot Cake – Perfect for Easter!

I never took a picture of the end product but it looked NOTHING like Pioneer Woman’s recipe ! Haha X-D. Co-workers liked it actually though they said it was too moist. I put the cake in the oven for the amount of time specified but since then I’ve learned that you just have to check for yourself whether it’s done or not. So I’m a beginner @ baking.  I’ll get better. I swear, I will. I’m going to attempt sticky date pudding later !

2. The Best Chocolate Sheet Cake. Ever.

Nearly every person I’ve mentionned my “chocolate sheet cake” too has looked at me bizarre with the reply, “chocolate SHIT cake? what was that like?” =.=” It was actually pretty good. Just ask my co-workers who all took more than one slice each ! X-D You can’t really go wrong with chocolate cake though. It wasn’t too much of a challenge. A good recipe for beginner bakers. Oh, I also made this cake especially for my mum who was turning .. I spelt out ’21’ in M&M’s ;-D Childish but whateva.. it’s all about presentation ! Haha, which I gotta say wasn’t the best since the tray i used to bake it in was like $2. But since then I’ve bought all these brand spankin’-new, shiny kitchen applicances & baking trays & such. It’s all very good ^^

3. Home made tomato sauce from scratch

This receipe is from a book so no link. And by the by, ‘from scratch’ doesn’t mean I actually grew the tomatoes myself but I didn’t use any pre-made sauces you find in jars on supermarket shelves. I have to say, I actually prefer the pre-made ones. However, it *does* taste better if you combine a bit of the two. I like eating pasta & finding *REAL* vegetables, tomatoes & such rather than just bits and pieces of what is barely recognisable as what used to be a processed tomato !

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2008 11:48 pm

    Oh my god the shit-cake looks SO. NOT. SHIT! Me want to eat…NOOOOWWW!!!

    You should do more foodie posts me-thinks…what with your fully hot photography skills et al, it would be super!

  2. July 24, 2008 3:09 pm

    Okay, seriously, that cake looks super delish. XD

  3. July 27, 2008 3:23 pm

    I almost started salivating from that picture of the chocolate cake! YUMMM.

  4. August 1, 2008 9:15 pm

    oh that chocolate cake looks amazing. such a shame im trying to be healthy at the moment! haha
    x

Leave a Reply

